Crypto Credit Cards Compared: What Bitpanda, Crypto.com and Nexo State on Fees and Cashback
On August 14, 2026 we retrieved the terms pages of nine crypto credit cards ourselves and took over only what the providers state there. Three cards were fully documented; five supplied no verifiable figures at all.

Table of Contents
Table of Contents
Which topics should we dive deeper into?
Select what genuinely interests you. Your picks feed directly into our editorial planning.
Crypto news that's actually worth your time.
Weekly. 60 seconds. Carefully curated by our editors: no hype, no promo flood, no spam.
Update 11 October 2026: Crypto.com has cut the rewards on its card. According to the product page, retrieved on 11 October 2026, Ruby Steel pays 1.5 percent in CRO on card spending of up to 750 US dollars a month, instead of the previous 2 percent with a cap of 25 US dollars in rewards. Royal Indigo and Jade Green pay 2.5 instead of 3 percent on up to 1,500 US dollars of spending, the top tier 4.5 instead of 5 percent. The fee overview in the help centre gives a different reward-eligible spending limit of 1,250 US dollars a month for Ruby; the cardholder agreement is binding. The Crypto.com figures below have been brought up to date as of 11 October; all other figures reflect our survey of 14 August 2026.
A crypto credit card promises something very simple: pay in a shop and draw the cover for it from your own crypto holdings. What separates the offers is rarely the plastic. It is four numbers: cashback, cap, ATM fee and foreign currency surcharge.
cryptoticker.io compiled this survey itself on August 14, 2026. The method in one sentence: we retrieved the public card and terms pages of nine providers advertised in Germany and took over only the figures stated there. Whatever a provider does not publish appears here as not stated, not as zero.
Crypto credit cards compared: nine provider pages, three documented card models
Objects reviewed: nine provider pages. The cards from Bitpanda, Crypto.com and Nexo could be evaluated in full. At Plutus we found reward rates but no tariff prices. Wirex, Bybit, Revolut, Coinbase and Bitvavo could not be evaluated, partly because the card pages were missing under the expected paths, partly because the servers rejected automated retrieval.
That is awkward for any comparison advertising a complete table: a considerable share of the terms is not publicly available on the product page. Which providers issue a card in Germany at all is listed in our comparison of crypto credit cards.
Bitpanda Card: one percent cashback, but only on payments from crypto holdings
Bitpanda states that the first card is free of charge, and names 9.90 euros for a replacement card after loss or theft. There are no fixed monthly costs, by its own account. For payments outside the eurozone, the card page states zero percent foreign currency fees, with the addition that surcharges from the card network remain possible.
Cashback amounts to one percent on every purchase paid for with crypto assets. The restriction behind it is the more interesting part: payments from euro balances, from stock and metal holdings, and from stablecoins and crypto indices are excluded.
Bitpanda states no fee for cash machine withdrawals, but points to possible additional charges from local banks. The card is limited to the eurozone and, according to the provider, currently carries no second fiat currency.
Crypto.com Visa: five card tiers, CRO staking and a monthly cashback cap
Crypto.com grades its offer into five tiers. Midnight Blue is free, requires no staking and pays zero percent cashback. Ruby Steel requires 450 euros of staking, or 3.99 euros a month, or 39.90 euros a year. Royal Indigo requires 4,500 euros of staking, or 24.99 euros monthly, or 249.90 euros annually. For Rose Gold the provider names 45,000 euros of staking, and for Obsidian 450,000 euros.
The cashback rates rise with the tier: 1.5 percent at Ruby Steel, 2.5 at Royal Indigo, 3.5 at Rose Gold and 4.5 at Obsidian, paid out in the in-house token CRO (as of 11 October 2026; on 14 August they were 2, 3, 4 and 5 percent). What counts is the limit underneath. Ruby Steel rewards card spending of up to 750 US dollars a month, Royal Indigo up to 1,500 US dollars. Rose Gold pays only 0.5 percent above 3,000 US dollars of spending, Obsidian 1 percent above 5,000 US dollars.
What the cap means in practice
At 1.5 percent on at most 750 US dollars of spending, Ruby Steel brings at most 11.25 US dollars in CRO a month, against a monthly fee of 3.99 euros; every euro of spending above that brings nothing more at this tier, arithmetically speaking. Royal Indigo reaches at most 37.50 US dollars at 2.5 percent on 1,500 US dollars. Anyone locking up the 450 euros of CRO is also locking them into a token with a fluctuating price, and that is an investment decision in its own right.

At the cash machine, Crypto.com names a free monthly allowance of 200 euros for Midnight Blue, 400 euros for Ruby Steel and 800 euros for Royal Indigo and Rose Gold, 1,000 euros for Obsidian, plus a monthly ceiling of 10,000 euros in withdrawals and a top-up limit of 25,000 euros. The page we retrieved states neither a foreign currency fee nor a country list. For bookings via Crypto.com Travel the product page now names rewards of up to 5 to 40 percent depending on tier.
Nexo Card: a credit line instead of a sale, with foreign currency fees graded by weekday
Nexo separates two operating modes. In credit mode, borrowing takes place against the deposited holdings and the payment is settled from a credit line; in debit mode, the holdings are spent directly. That has tax consequences.
The provider names no monthly, annual or inactivity fees, and the page states no issuing fee. The virtual card requires a minimum balance of 50 US dollars and is activated free of charge; Nexo names free shipping of the physical card from 5,000 US dollars in balance and at least the gold tier of the loyalty programme.
Crypto credit cards comparedCash machines and foreign currency: the fees usually missing from comparisons
On withdrawals, Nexo is the only one of the three providers to state both a free allowance and the fee above it. Free are up to 200 euros at the base tier, 400 euros at silver, 1,000 euros at gold and 2,000 euros at platinum, each with a corresponding sterling amount. For every further withdrawal the provider names two percent, with a minimum of 1.99 euros.
More revealing is the foreign currency fee, because Nexo is the only one to grade it by weekday. On working days the provider names 0.2 percent within the European Economic Area, the United Kingdom and Switzerland, and two percent for the rest of the world. At the weekend the same rates rise to 0.7 and 2.5 percent; a holiday payment on a Saturday outside Europe therefore costs more than the same payment on a Tuesday.
Bitpanda states zero percent foreign currency fees and is silent on the ATM fee, while Crypto.com states the ATM allowance and is silent on foreign currency. What a withdrawal in Zurich actually costs cannot be answered in full from any single product page.
Cashback rates compared: why the percentage alone says little about the return
Placed side by side, the rewards look like this. Bitpanda pays one percent without tiers and without a stated monthly cap, but only on payments from crypto holdings. Crypto.com pays zero to 4.5 percent in CRO, with a spending limit at every paid tier. Nexo pays 0.5 to two percent in NEXO tokens in credit mode depending on loyalty tier, or 0.1 to 0.5 percent in bitcoin, in each case from 5,000 US dollars in balance.
Three quantities devalue the nominal percentage, and they sit in the terms rather than in the advertising. The payout currency is the first: anyone rewarded in an in-house token carries its price risk, and the bitcoin rate at Nexo is well below it at every tier. The cap is the second, because above a certain monthly turnover it pulls the rate to zero in arithmetic terms. The locked deposit is the third; at Crypto.com it runs into five figures at the higher tiers.
For a household with 600 euros of card spending a month, the difference between one and two percent decides roughly six euros. A single foreign withdrawal with a two percent surcharge can eat up that lead.
Nexo also pays interest on unspent balances
For debit mode, Nexo names up to 13 percent interest a year on unspent balances, and a rate from 1.9 percent for the credit line. Both figures are peak values tied to loyalty tiers; the rates actually achievable are not stated on the card page.

Plutus, Wirex and Bybit: what remains open in this survey
Plutus advertises three percent cashback on everything and up to nine percent at more than 70 million merchants, paid out in the in-house token PLUS, along with a free virtual card and a 14-day trial period. Not stated are the tariff names and tariff prices, the turnover limits behind the rates, and cash machine and foreign currency fees. The advertised maximum rate therefore cannot be recalculated from publicly available information.
At Wirex, the expected card and fee paths answered with code 404, the Bybit card page redirected to the home page, and Revolut, Coinbase and Bitvavo rejected our requests with code 403. These five providers therefore appear in no numerical statement in this article.
Crypto tax tools and portfolio trackersTax on crypto credit cards: every card payment from crypto is a disposal
The most important cost factor appears on no provider page. Anyone who pays with a crypto credit card and has bitcoin or ether converted into euros for it disposes of those coins within the meaning of income tax law. The relevant provision is Section 23 of the German Income Tax Act: for other economic goods, a private disposal exists if no more than one year lies between acquisition and disposal. Paragraph 3 sentence 5 names the exemption limit, under which gains stay tax-free if the total gain from private disposals in the calendar year came to less than 1,000 euros.
That turns a payment into an event requiring documentation. A coffee for 3.20 euros, paid from an eight-month-old holding, produces a tax-relevant gain or loss equal to the difference from the acquisition value. Over a year this adds up to several hundred individual events, each needing an acquisition date, an acquisition value and a disposal value. The derivation is in our article on crypto credit cards and tax from August 11, 2026.
This is where the practical advantage of credit mode lies, as Nexo describes it. If the payment is settled from a credit line and the holding is only deposited as collateral, no disposal takes place at first. When a taxable disposal does arise then depends on repayment and realisation, and belongs in tax advice on the individual case. What both cases need is an unbroken transaction history, and for that we maintain an overview of crypto tax tools and portfolio trackers.
Card issuer and crypto provider: two companies are involved in every card
A crypto credit card is as a rule a debit or prepaid card from a payment service provider, to which a crypto service provider attaches an account. That explains some of the wording in the terms: when Bitpanda states zero percent foreign currency fees while pointing to surcharges from the card network, those are two fee levels, only one of which the provider controls. For the selection, a second check follows alongside price: who holds the balance in custody, and is that provider entered in the public register? Since MiCA has applied across Europe, custodians and exchange services need a corresponding authorisation; the registers of BaFin and ESMA are open to public inspection.
What stood out methodically in this survey
Of nine provider pages reviewed, not a single one listed all four core terms in one place. Cashback was prominent everywhere, while foreign currency and cash machine fees moved into submenus or were absent. That is no reproach to any individual provider, because complete price lists regularly sit in the logged-in area. It does explain, though, why card comparisons so often contradict each other in their figures.
Choosing a crypto credit card: what to take away
- Work out the limit before you book a tier. If the provider states a spending limit, multiply it by the cashback rate and you have the highest monthly reward: at 750 US dollars and 1.5 percent that is 11.25 US dollars. If it states a cap on the reward, divide it by the rate: 25 US dollars at 2 percent corresponds to 1,250 US dollars of spending. If your card spending is well below that, the more expensive tier brings nothing. Which providers issue in Germany is set out in the comparison of crypto credit cards.
- Check the foreign currency and cash machine fees separately from the cashback. A two percent surcharge on one foreign withdrawal can use up a year's return from one percent cashback. If the values are missing from the product page, ask for the price list. Anyone attaching the card to an exchange should check its authorisation as well, see our overview of regulated crypto exchanges.
- Sort out the documentation before the first payment goes through. Every card payment from a crypto holding is a tax-relevant event. Set up the export and the connection to a tax tool while it is still a handful of entries; our overview of crypto tax tools shows which ones recognise card transactions.
(As of August 14, 2026. This article is not investment advice. Prices and fee structures change; check the terms with the provider before you buy.)
Transparency note: This article was produced with the assistance of artificial intelligence and reviewed by our editorial team before publication. All figures and claims were checked against the primary sources linked in the text.
Related articles
- Crypto.com Changes Its Card Fees: From October 1 the Paid Tiers Pay a Foreign Transaction Fee Too
- Visa Crypto Cards See Explosive Growth in 2025, Signaling Rising Adoption
- USDT cashback and 7 percent on stablecoins: what the MiCA interest ban means for you
- Barclaycard to Block All Crypto Purchases – Here's What It Means for You
- Crypto Credit Card Tax in Germany: Why Every Payment Is a Disposal
Which topics should we dive deeper into?
Select what genuinely interests you. Your picks feed directly into our editorial planning.
Crypto news that's actually worth your time.
Weekly. 60 seconds. Carefully curated by our editors: no hype, no promo flood, no spam.
October 1, 2026 7:15 PM

Bitpanda fees from 0.99 to 2.49 percent: what is behind it
Bitpanda assigns every coin to one of four price tiers, from 0.99 percent for Bitcoin to 2.49 percent for small caps. What 100 euros costs in and out, why the spread is missing from the mandatory document, and where 0.25 percent is enough under the same roof.
July 7, 2025 8:12 PM

BIG Crypto News: EU Approves 14 Stablecoin Issuers Under MiCA
Six months into the MiCA rollout, Europe’s crypto regulatory landscape is taking shape. From authorized stablecoin issuers to licensed crypto service providers, here’s the full July 2025 update.
January 20, 2024 8:03 AM

How to Buy Bitcoin in 2024 with a Card- EASY Guide
As we progress through the year 2024, Bitcoin (BTC) continues to hold a significant position in the digital currency market.
November 1, 2023 6:52 PM

CryptoTicker x Bitpanda: Win €5,000 in Bitcoin, Here’s How!
CryptoTicker and Bitpanda are teaming up to bring you a thrilling opportunity to win €5,000 in Bitcoin. Here's how to participate.
August 22, 2019 9:55 AM

Coinbase launches its Cryptocurrency Debit Card in 6 European Countries
In a push to make crypto easier to use for the general public, companies like Binance and Coinbase early in the year were racing to bring new features to users. This was in part to consolidate users from smaller exchanges […]
November 1, 2018 4:16 PM

VISA may have plans to adopt crypto
Following Mastercard unveiling their patent pending “fractional reserve” banking for crypto assets, VISA seems to be looking forward to crypto adoption too
September 10, 2026 1:21 AM

Crypto Exchanges Head to Head: Which Pairing Is Cheaper Where
Before opening an account, the question is rarely which exchange is best overall, but whether it should be this one or that one. This article sorts through the most searched head-to-heads, puts the cost per 1,000 euros side by side and explains the most expensive mix-up: one provider with two interfaces and a factor of seventeen between them.
September 23, 2026 7:15 AM

SoFi Settles Card Payments in Stablecoin: What Cardholders Should Check
Since September 22, 2026, the US bank SoFi has run its entire card business through its own stablecoin, SoFiUSD, on the Mastercard network. What sets the model apart from a crypto credit card, and which rules would apply if a European provider followed suit.
December 29, 2019 7:20 PM

You can now buy Bitcoin with your credit card: Binance
When most players in the industry are trying to cut down on costs by scaling down operations and cutting down on staff due to the prevailing bear market, Binance is expanding, and expanding fast. This might seem a strange move, […]
July 4, 2019 10:11 PM

Mike Novogratz: Bitcoin Purchases via Credit Card Two Years Away
A large number of banks do not allow their customers to buy crypto with credit cards, but with drastic changes happening in the industry, we could see a change in this attitude. There are many reasons why banks don’t allow […]
February 27, 2026 8:58 AM

Breaking: MetaMask and Mastercard Launch Self-Custodial Card in the US
MetaMask and Mastercard launch a self-custodial crypto card in the US, enabling direct spending from wallets at 150 million merchants worldwide.
October 11, 2026 4:28 AM

Coinbase Card Without a Transaction Fee: What Investors Need to Know About Conversion and the Holding Period
Coinbase charges no transaction fee for paying with the card. It gets expensive in two places that appear on no receipt: the conversion of the balance and the holding period.
February 12, 2025 8:00 AM

Crypto News & Finance Updates: Hong Kong Recognizes Bitcoin & Ethereum for Investment Visa
Hong Kong has officially recognized Bitcoin and Ethereum as valid proof of wealth for its CIES. Could this decision drive BTC and ETH prices higher signaling a major shift in crypto adoption?
October 4, 2026 4:24 PM

Bitcoin by credit card: the surcharge runs up to 9.94 euros per 100 euros
Anyone buying Bitcoin with a credit card pays two fees instead of one: the trading venue's, and their own bank's, which often settles the purchase like a cash withdrawal. On 100 euros of card spending up to 9.94 euros add up, while the SEPA transfer costs nothing at the same providers.
April 18, 2026 2:45 AM

Bitpanda Fusion Hits Paris: 100 Traders Take Over the Louvre for Paris Blockchain Week
Bitpanda Fusion takes over Paris with a massive trader flashmob at the Louvre during Paris Blockchain Week 2026. Discover the impact of this liquidity stunt.
April 16, 2026 7:11 PM

Bitpanda Launches Bitpanda Fusion 2.0: Here's What to Expect...
Bitpanda Fusion launches as a pro-grade platform, aggregating 12+ global order books to provide deep liquidity and tighter spreads for European traders.
August 30, 2026 10:38 PM

Crypto Cards: Where Your Card Balance Really Sits and What the August 28 Solana Exploit Reveals About It
An attack on a card balance contract on Solana took the loaded balance from 1,685 users while their wallets stayed untouched. The case shows why it matters whether your crypto card holds funds as e-money at a licensed institution or in a smart contract.
September 11, 2026 1:40 PM

Inactivity Fees at Crypto Exchanges: How to Check Whether Your Dormant Account Loses Money Every Month
Two providers have just raised their rates for dormant accounts, one of them to as much as 52 US dollars a month. Our own survey of 15 fee pages shows why you will almost never find the answer for your account without logging in.
April 17, 2026 10:57 PM

Bitpanda Fusion Trading Competition in April 2026: The Competition Has Ended
Recap as of September 27, 2026: the Bitpanda Fusion Trading Competition with a €50,000 prize pool ran from April 16 to 30, 2026 and has ended.
July 8, 2025 1:09 PM

TON Clarifies: No Official UAE Golden Visa for $TON Stakers — Just a Private Pilot Program
Toncoin made waves last week after headlines claimed that $TON holders could secure a 10-year UAE Golden Visa. But now, the TON Foundation CEO has stepped in to set the record straight.
August 20, 2024 3:00 PM

New US Senate Proposal Submitted For Crypto Tax Exemption
The US Senate has recently submitted a new proposal to exempt crypto transactions from federal taxes. Here are more details of this submission, and a list of exempted countries it could be joining...
October 6, 2026 4:32 AM

Bitcoin for a gift card: what paying with crypto means for your holding period
Paying for a gift card with Bitcoin is a sale for tax purposes. What counts as the disposal proceeds, when the twelve-month holding period bites, and the four records the tax office expects.
July 28, 2026 5:53 PM

Emirates Now Accepts Crypto: UAE Flyers Can Book Flights With Crypto.com Pay
Emirates has launched Crypto.com Pay for UAE residents, letting them book flights with digital assets on its website and app. Here is how the flow works.
September 5, 2019 3:26 PM

Weekly Tidbits: Crypto News from the German-Speaking Sphere
German Cabinet and Bundesbank tries to resolve CBDC issues The Cabinet of Germany and Deutsche Bundesbank are working together on issues regarding central bank digital currencies (CBDCs). The Cabinet published an official response to a request from the Free Democratic […]
October 5, 2026 1:40 AM

Crypto at comdirect: 29 certificates with no order fee in a savings plan, but not a single coin
comdirect puts crypto into your securities account as a certificate, not as a coin. Our count of October 4, 2026 shows 29 securities from five issuers on 12 cryptocurrencies. On a one-off purchase the minimum fee of 9.90 euros amounts to 9.90 percent on 100 euros invested; in a savings plan the 1.5 percent is waived until the end of 2027.
More from CryptoTicker





