100 Euros Into Bitcoin Without Fees: What Actually Arrives at Five Providers
Five providers serving German retail customers, €100 invested: after the disclosed fee, between €98.50 and €100 is left. Only one provider names the spread as well, and with it the whole price.

Table of Contents
Table of Contents



Which topics should we dive deeper into?
Select what genuinely interests you. Your picks feed directly into our editorial planning.
Crypto news that's actually worth your time.
Weekly. 60 seconds. Carefully curated by our editors: no hype, no promo flood, no spam.
Anyone putting €100 into bitcoin gets bitcoin for €100 at no German provider. After the disclosed fee, between €98.50 and €100 is left, and after that a second item applies that most providers do not quantify: the spread.
The marketing phrase "without fees" is therefore not a price promise but a statement about a single line of the statement. This analysis was carried out by cryptoticker.io itself on 30 September 2026. It is based on the public fee and terms pages of five providers serving German retail customers: justTRADE, finanzen.net ZERO, BISON, Kraken and N26. What was counted is which price components the provider names itself and which it leaves open.
The result up front: at exactly one of the five providers can you work out in full, from its own disclosures, what arrives in bitcoin from €100. At the other four, a number is missing for the second half of the calculation.
Spread and order commission: the two price components when you buy bitcoin
A purchase costs you money in two places, and the two have nothing to do with each other.
The order commission is the amount the provider charges for execution and discloses as a fee on the statement. This item is usually a percentage of the order volume and is fixed before the purchase.
The spread is the difference between the price at which you can buy and the price at which you could sell at the same moment. It is not a fee in the legal sense, because it is not charged but built into the quoted price. For your holdings the difference is irrelevant: both reduce the amount of bitcoin you receive for your money.
That is exactly the gap the phrase "without fees" exploits. A provider can set the order commission to zero and put the margin into the price. The statement then shows a zero, and the customer has paid all the same. How much is stated nowhere.
Why the comparison does not end at the percentage
Two providers with identical commissions can be differently expensive if their prices sit at different distances from the market price. A provider that quantifies its spread is therefore not automatically the cheaper one, but the only one where you can do the maths in advance.
justTRADE: 0.125 percent order commission and a €25 minimum order size
justTRADE names the lowest disclosed commission in the field: 0.125 percent of the order volume. On €100 that is 12.5 cents, leaving €99.88 for the purchase.
The provider sets this rate expressly "plus trading venue spread". The trading venue spread is the margin the venue itself builds into its price, not the broker. justTRADE does not name a figure for it, and it varies with the venue and the time of day.
Two conditions narrow the rate further: a minimum order size of €25 applies, and according to the provider no network fees are charged. Tradable are 73 crypto assets and 94 crypto ETPs, 43 of them eligible for savings plans, plus fractional trading and custody in Germany.
For a savings plan of €25 a month that means a commission of around three cents. At that order size the spread is by far the larger item, and it is the one you do not know.

finanzen.net ZERO: zero euro order fees and a small-order surcharge
finanzen.net ZERO advertises "from 0 euro order fees" and states itself what that costs: "plus spreads and, on very small orders, a 1 euro small-order surcharge". The order fees are covered by the trading partners, according to the provider.
Tradable are 59 coins plus more than 50 crypto ETPs, held in custody and regulated in Germany, with no minimum order size. In the Stiftung Warentest cost comparison of December 2025 the provider was, by its own account, the cost winner across all pricing models.
The small-order surcharge is a flat amount that applies on top for small orders and eats up the percentage advantage on small sums. From which order volume it no longer applies is not stated on the terms page. That is the decisive point for your calculation: if the threshold is above €100, you pay €1 on a hundred euros and therefore more than with any percentage rate in the field. If it is below, you pay nothing. One euro of difference on €100 is thus an open question at this provider, not a number.
BISON: no trading fee, but a 1.25 percent spread on bitcoin
BISON is the only provider in this count that names both components. Trading is free of charge according to the provider; transactions, deposits and withdrawals, custody and account maintenance cost nothing.
And then comes the number that is otherwise missing: the proportional spread on buying and selling bitcoin and ethereum averages 1.25 percent in each case. On all other cryptocurrencies it averages 1.75 percent. The provider adds that the figure fluctuates because it depends on market conditions and on the size of the trade.
That makes the calculation possible. Of €100, around €98.75 arrives in bitcoin at an average spread of 1.25 percent. That is the lower figure in this comparison, but it is the only one that contains the whole price. At the other four providers, a blank sits next to the commission.
Fee-free trading can be the more expensive kind
Setting the 1.25 percent against justTRADE's 0.125 percent compares two different things: a complete disclosure against half of one. If the trading venue spread at justTRADE comes out above 1.125 percent, the provider with the tenfold commission is cheaper in the end. That can only be checked against the actual price at the moment of the order.
Crypto exchanges comparedKraken: 1 percent on instant buy, 0.80 percent in the order book
Kraken separates two routes, and the price difference between them is larger than the difference between some providers.
On instant buy, the one-click option in the app and on the web, the exchange charges, by its own account, 1 percent on instant and recurring purchases and 1.5 percent on so-called custom orders. It states expressly that the displayed price includes a spread. For members of its paid plan the trading fee is waived up to a volume of $10,000 a month.
In the order book, by contrast, the volume-tiered schedule applies. At the lowest tier, from zero dollars of turnover in 30 days, that is 0.40 percent as maker and 0.80 percent as taker. A maker is someone who puts an order into the book and waits for it to be filled, a taker someone who immediately fills an order already sitting there. So anyone with the patience for a limit order pays 0.40 instead of 1 percent.
On €100 that means: €99 through instant buy, €99.20 as a taker in the order book, €99.60 as a maker. The spread comes on top in all three cases and is not quantified. One detail on the margin that affects small holdings: for consolidating dust balances below the minimum order size, the exchange names a flat rate of 3 percent.
The jump from 1 percent to 0.40 percent costs you nothing but a different route through the interface. That is the biggest lever in this whole comparison, and it lies not in the choice of provider but in the choice of order screen. An overview of which trading venues in Germany offer which order types is in our comparison of the best crypto exchanges.

N26: 1.5 percent on bitcoin, 2.5 percent on other coins
N26 names the highest rate in the field. As standard, 1.5 percent applies to bitcoin transactions and 2.5 percent to transactions in other coins. That leaves €98.50 out of €100.
On the Metal plan the rate falls to 1 percent for bitcoin and 2 percent for other coins, but only for trading amounts up to €5,000 per calendar month, purchase fees included. Above that limit the standard rates apply again. The bank also rounds the fee up to the next full cent.
The most revealing sentence on that page, however, concerns not the level but the responsibility: the fees and the prices shown in the app, which may include spreads, are not set by N26 but by Bitpanda Asset Management GmbH, according to the bank. So anyone buying at their bank is trading through a service provider in the background whose pricing the bank itself does not answer for.
That has a practical consequence for you. The most convenient route, straight from the current account, is the most expensive disclosed one in this comparison, and the margin in the price is set by a third party. How banks and neobrokers otherwise differ in their crypto offering is therefore not decided by the bank you hold your account with alone.
The calculation on €100: between €98.50 and €100 before the spread
The five providers, sorted by the disclosed fee, each for a purchase of €100 on 30 September 2026:
- finanzen.net ZERO: €0 order fee, leaving €100. On very small orders a €1 surcharge is added; the threshold is not stated. Spread not quantified.
- justTRADE: 0.125 percent, leaving €99.88. Trading venue spread not quantified.
- BISON: no trading fee, leaving €100. After the stated average spread of 1.25 percent, around €98.75 arrives in bitcoin.
- Kraken: 0.40 percent as maker, 0.80 percent as taker, 1 percent on instant buy. That leaves €99.60, €99.20 or €99. Spread included in the price, not quantified.
- N26: 1.5 percent on bitcoin, leaving €98.50. Possible spreads are set by a third party, not quantified.
The range of the disclosed fee thus runs from zero to €1.50 per €100 invested. That sounds like little, and on a single purchase it is. On a savings plan of €100 a month, the same range separates around €180 over ten years, in the commission alone and before the spread is added.
Why the spread stays unquantified at four out of five providers
The count produces a clear pattern: only BISON names a concrete percentage for the spread. The other four name it but do not disclose it as a figure.
There is a substantive reason for that. The spread genuinely fluctuates, with liquidity, the time of day and the order size, and a fixed number would be an assertion. BISON solves it with the word "average" and a note on the variation.
The consequence for you stays the same regardless of the reason: a price comparison based on percentages is incomplete at four out of five providers, and the gap cannot be closed by research, only by your own measurement. It goes like this: immediately before the order, note the market price of bitcoin at an independent price source, then the price your provider shows you. The difference in percent is your spread at that moment. Done at two providers in parallel it takes two minutes and replaces any fee table.
How individual exchanges construct their mark-ups in detail we have broken down using one provider as an example: what a purchase at Coinbase really costs.
Crypto brokers comparedNetwork fee, custody and savings plan: the costs after the purchase
The purchase price is not the whole price. Three items only arise later, and on small amounts they matter more than the commission.
The network fee you pay to the blockchain, not to the provider, as soon as you move your coins to your own wallet. justTRADE states that it charges none, and BISON calls deposits and withdrawals free of charge as well. Anyone underestimating this item may pay more on withdrawing a small holding than on buying it.
The custody is free of charge at justTRADE, BISON and finanzen.net ZERO by their own accounts, and takes place in Germany. That is no side detail: domestic custody under German supervision is a different legal framework from custody at an exchange abroad.
On a savings plan, the maths shifts in favour of the percentage models as soon as a flat amount is involved. A commission of 0.125 percent stays at three cents on a €25 instalment. A small-order surcharge of €1 would be a cost rate of 4 percent on the same instalment. That is exactly why a look at the threshold above which a flat amount is dropped is worth more than a look at the percentage in the advertising.
What the holding period has to do with your fees
One point often lost in the arithmetic: every sale and every swap triggers its own tax assessment for you, and frequent reshuffling multiplies not only the fee but also the documentation effort. Anyone who buys rarely and holds long pays the commission once. Anyone reshuffling monthly pays it twelve times a year and has to be able to evidence every transaction.
Buying bitcoin without fees: what to take away
The phrase "without fees" describes a line of the statement, not the price. Three steps turn the advertising promise into a number you can work with:
- Separate commission and spread before you compare providers. Take the commission from the terms page and treat every provider without a quantified spread as an incomplete disclosure. Which trading venues and brokers are authorised in Germany and which order types they offer is set out in the comparison of the best crypto brokers.
- Measure the spread yourself once, directly before your order. Note the market price, note the provider's price, work out the difference in percent. Two minutes of work replace any table, and the result applies to your order size rather than to an average. The routes by which a purchase is possible in Germany at all are summarised in our overview of buying bitcoin.
- Do the sums over your holding period, not over one purchase. One percentage point of difference is one euro on €100 and a three-figure amount on a savings plan over ten years. Anyone documenting every order cleanly has the basis for the tax return done at the same time: an overview of crypto tax tools and portfolio trackers.
The full disclosures of the two providers that reveal the most in this count can be found at BISON on fees and costs and in the Kraken fee schedule.
(As of September 30, 2026. This article is not investment advice. Prices and fee structures change; check the terms with the provider before you buy.)
Frequently asked questions about buying bitcoin without fees
Transparency note: This article was produced with the assistance of artificial intelligence and reviewed by our editorial team before publication. All figures and claims were checked against the primary sources linked in the text. The feature image was generated with AI.
Related articles
- Bitcoin Order Before the Fed Decision: What Slippage Really Costs You
- Crypto Through Sparkasse and Volksbank: 1.5 Percent Commission Plus a Spread, and No Product Page Names the Price
- Coinbase Fees: What a Purchase Really Costs, and Where the Spread Is Hidden
- Crypto Savings Plans Compared: What Bison, justTRADE and Kraken State on Fees, Minimum Instalment and Interval
- Bitcoin With No Cost Basis: How Austria Taxes the Sale
Which topics should we dive deeper into?
Select what genuinely interests you. Your picks feed directly into our editorial planning.
Crypto news that's actually worth your time.
Weekly. 60 seconds. Carefully curated by our editors: no hype, no promo flood, no spam.
June 7, 2026 11:00 AM

How to Buy Bitcoin with No KYC in 2026: 3 Ways to Do It
Protect your data and maintain privacy. Here are the three most secure ways to buy Bitcoin without identity verification (KYC) in 2026.
September 3, 2026 10:32 PM

Crypto Fees at Neobrokers: Why the PFOF Ban Raises Your Stock Costs but Leaves Your Coin Purchase Untouched
Since September 2, N26 charges 0.90 euros per stock order again, while the same provider takes 1.5 to 3.5 percent for a coin purchase. We retrieved and analysed the crypto costs of ten providers ourselves.
September 29, 2024 8:01 PM

Cheapest Way to Buy Bitcoin Today
With Bitcoin trading above $60K, the opportunity to invest is now. Why do experts predict it could still reach $100K and how can you easily buy Bitcoin?
September 22, 2026 1:27 AM

Bitcoin ATM in Germany: Fees, BaFin Authorisation and Tax
Bitcoin ATMs stand in kiosks and shopping arcades, and buying there costs a multiple of the online route. What BaFin demands of the operator, at what amount your ID becomes due, and how you evidence the purchase for tax.
August 22, 2026 4:30 AM

Setting Crypto Order Types Correctly: Market, Limit and Stop-Loss Compared
A market order buys immediately, a limit order only at your price, and a stop-loss triggers only at a set level. This guide shows which order type fits which situation, and where spread, slippage and the fee model shift your entry price.
August 20, 2026 1:17 AM

Crypto Withdrawal Fees: What Moving Coins to Your Own Wallet Really Costs
We measured the withdrawal fees for 475 assets on August 17, 2026 and set them against the actual network fee. For Bitcoin, the exchange charged eight to sixteen times what a transaction cost in the same minute.
September 10, 2026 1:21 AM

Crypto Exchanges Head to Head: Which Pairing Is Cheaper Where
Before opening an account, the question is rarely which exchange is best overall, but whether it should be this one or that one. This article sorts through the most searched head-to-heads, puts the cost per 1,000 euros side by side and explains the most expensive mix-up: one provider with two interfaces and a factor of seventeen between them.
May 15, 2026 9:47 AM

Top 10 Altcoins to Buy in May 2026 as Bitcoin Recovers
Here are the top 10 altcoins to buy in May 2026 as Bitcoin rebounds near $80K and market momentum shifts.
March 27, 2026 7:58 PM

Crypto Crash 2026: Buy Now or Wait? A Smart Investor’s Guide
Crypto is crashing amid war and oil shocks. Should you buy now or wait? A smart investor guide to navigating the 2026 crypto market drop.
January 12, 2026 12:25 PM

Is This Crypto Cycle Like 2021? The January 2026 Analysis in Hindsight
In January 2026 much spoke against a repeat of 2021. It turned out harsher: Bitcoin lost more than half of its value from the cycle high near $124,700 by July 2026.
February 11, 2026 7:05 AM

5 Things to Look for BEFORE Buying Bitcoin
Thinking about entering the crypto market? Discover the 5 essential factors to check before you buy Bitcoin to secure your investment and strategy.
June 8, 2026 10:50 AM

Is it Time to Buy the Crypto Dip? Bitcoin at $60k Amid Middle East Escalation
Bitcoin has plunged from $120k to $60k as Middle East geopolitical tensions spike. Explore whether to buy the crypto dip or wait for further downside.
January 23, 2025 11:45 PM

TRUMP Crypto Executive Order to make America the Capital of AI and Crypto - Bitcoin Reserve Coming?
Following one of the most awaited Trump actions, the Trump crypto executive order, empowering AI, cryptos, and technology, what would be David Sacks role in this? Here is all you need to know...
March 7, 2025 8:24 AM

BREAKING: President Trump Crypto Reserve is Officially Signed, BUT Why are Cryptos Crashing?
President Trump has signed an executive order to establish a Strategic Bitcoin Reserve, marking the biggest milestone in crypto history. But why is the crypto crash still happening?
June 25, 2024 11:00 PM

How to Buy Bitcoin on Bitget: A Step-by-Step Guide
Want to buy Bitcoin and still confused about which platform to use? Look no further! Check Bitget, and this full guide, step by step...
August 10, 2026 9:15 PM

Selling Bitcoin at an ATM: Tax Rules in Austria
Selling bitcoin for cash at an ATM: when the 27.5 percent rate applies in Austria and which records you need to keep.
November 11, 2024 7:25 PM

Bitcoin Price Prediction: BTC Price of $86,000 REACHED! What Next?
Bitcoin has shattered its previous record, skyrocketing past $86,000 and reigniting a buying frenzy among crypto investors.
December 9, 2025 9:03 AM

BlackRock Loads Up on BTC & ETH as Major Crypto Pump Could Be Coming
BlackRock is quietly accumulating Bitcoin and Ethereum again — a clear sign institutions are preparing early for the next big crypto liquidity cycle.
September 23, 2026 4:26 PM

Paid in Bitcoin: How to Tax Crypto Income as a Self-Employed Freelancer
A fee in Bitcoin is perfectly ordinary business income, valued at the euro price on the day it reaches you. The decisive trap comes afterwards: business assets carry no one-year holding period, so every later price move stays taxable.
January 28, 2026 12:56 PM

Top 5 Altcoins to Buy in February 2026: Massive Discounts from ATH
With Bitcoin consolidating around 90K, discover the top 5 altcoins currently trading at a massive discount from their all-time highs for February 2026.
May 6, 2025 4:00 AM

Crypto News Today: Bitcoin, Ethereum, and Top Altcoins in May 2025
The crypto market enters May 2025 with mixed signals: Bitcoin stabilizes, Ethereum gas fees drop, XRP nears a rebound, and Cardano eyes recovery. Here’s what you need to know.
March 31, 2025 10:57 AM

Top 3 Reasons Why NOW Is a Good Time to Buy Cryptos
Crypto prices have dropped over 20% in the past month, but smart investors see this as an opportunity. Here’s why now is the perfect time to buy cryptos before the next surge!
September 22, 2026 4:12 PM

Nearly $1 Billion Into Bitcoin ETFs: What to Check on ETNs, Portfolio and Holding Period
US spot bitcoin ETFs took in a net $999 million on September 21, the third consecutive day of inflows. German investors cannot reach these funds: what ETNs, the holding period and your buying route mean for you.
February 7, 2026 11:00 AM

Crypto Prices Jump 5% as Bitcoin and Ethereum Hit Key Support Zone
Cryptos are up 5% today, bouncing off major support levels. Analysts eye a medium-term buy zone for Bitcoin and Ethereum despite lingering crash fears.
April 1, 2025 1:00 PM

BREAKING Crypto News: Bitcoin Hits $500,000 on one Exchange – Traders in Shock!
In a shocking turn of events, Bitcoin has surged to an unbelievable $500,000 on a crypto exchange, sending traders into a frenzy. Is this the beginning of a new era?
March 8, 2025 1:00 PM

Top 3 Altcoins to Buy in March After the Crypto Summit’s Market Drop
The crypto market reacted negatively after the much-anticipated Crypto Summit. As the dust settles, here are the top 3 altcoins to buy once the price correction stabilizes.
September 22, 2026 1:12 PM

Buying Bitcoin With PayPal in Germany: What Really Works and What It Costs
PayPal runs no crypto service of its own in Germany, but it works as a deposit route at regulated exchanges. What the detour costs, which withdrawal hold follows it and why buyer protection does not apply here.
More from CryptoTicker
