Gate.io vs OKX Comparison
In our overall rating OKX leads with 4.5 out of 5 points, ahead of Gate.io with 3.7. Our table lists the trading fee as “0.1% spot (maker and taker)” for Gate.io and “0.2 %” for OKX. If you care most about usability, fees, stability, and support, OKX has the better sub-scores, and the two are level in the other areas.
| 0.1% spot (maker and taker) | Fees | 0.2 % |
| — | Minimum cost per €1,000 | € 2.00 |
| — | Cryptos | 280+ |
| — | Payment Methods | Deposits: SEPA / SEPA Instant, Easy Transfer, Credit Card and PayPal Express purchases: PayPal, Google Pay, Apple Pay and Credit Card |
| MiCA licence via MFSA (Malta) | Regulation | MiCA licence, MiFID II licence and payment institution (MFSA, Malta) |
Cost comparison
The basis is a Bitcoin purchase worth €1,000, calculated from the disclosed trading fee. A price markup in the spread is not included, because most providers do not publish it.
| — | Minimum cost per €1,000 | € 2.00 |
| 0.1% spot (maker and taker) | Fees | 0.2 % |
| — | Wallet transfer | € 1.08 |
| — | Cost transparency | Yes |
| ~$10 USD | Minimum Amount | ~$10 USD |
| — | Payment Methods | Deposits: SEPA / SEPA Instant, Easy Transfer, Credit Card and PayPal Express purchases: PayPal, Google Pay, Apple Pay and Credit Card |
Not enough reviews available.
OKX Europe charges spot fees by account type: the spot-only account costs 0.10% maker and 0.20% taker in the base tier, the spot and derivatives account 0.08% and 0.10%.
| Transaction | Cost at OKX Europe |
|---|---|
| Spot trading, spot-only account, regular user | 0.10% maker, 0.20% taker |
| Spot trading, spot and derivatives account, regular user | 0.08% maker, 0.10% taker |
| VIP 1 in the spot and derivatives account (from EUR 100,000 assets or EUR 1m volume in 30 days) | 0.0675% maker, 0.08% taker |
| Zero-fee pairs | selected spot pairs at 0% maker and taker |
| Crypto withdrawals | network fee per coin |
How to save: On a EUR 1,000 buy as a taker, the spot-only account costs EUR 2 and the spot and derivatives account EUR 1. Limit orders as a maker are cheaper in both account types. See how OKX compares in our crypto exchange comparison.
Fees as of 1 November 2026 according to the OKX Europe fee page.
OKX bonus and promotions (November 2026)
Welcome bonus of up to €400: if you sign up with the cryptoticker.io referral code and complete account verification, you receive a €100 X-Perps voucher from a deposit of €1. The reward rises with your trading volume: €125 from €25,000, €175 from €75,000, €250 from €150,000 and €400 from €300,000. Crypto rewards are locked for withdrawals for up to 45 days. The programme is open to new users in the EEA; the OKX bonus terms apply.
Further promotions: on USDT you deposit and convert to USDC, OKX pays an 8% bonus, up to €3,500; the promotion ends on 13 November 2026. If you hold a VIP tier at another exchange, you can carry it over to OKX.
You can open an OKX account through our partner link to OKX; cryptoticker.io receives a commission when an account is opened. Offers as of 1 November 2026.
Pros & Cons
- MiCA authorisation as a crypto-asset service provider from Malta's MFSA since 29 September 2025, passported across the EEA, plus a licence for payment services
- Gate EU with localised sites: more than 200 cryptocurrencies, each tradable against the euro and USDC
- Spot fee of 0.1% for makers and takers, makers pay 0% from VIP 10
- Convert, OTC trading, staking and the Gate Card alongside spot trading
- A much smaller selection for EU customers than on the global platform, which according to Gate lists more than 5,400 cryptocurrencies
- No futures trading on Gate EU
- No USDT pairs, no GT token and no GT fee discount on Gate EU
- Migration required: existing EEA customers of the global platform are being moved to Gate EU step by step
- MiCA, MiFID II and payment institution licences via OKX Europe in Malta
- Spot fee of 0.20% taker on a spot-only account, 0.10% with a derivatives account
- Total costs of €2.00 per €1,000
- Proof of reserve is provided
- Wide range of payment methods: SEPA, PayPal, credit card, Apple Pay, Google Pay
- Savings plan via recurring buy (daily to monthly) and staking available
- Selection of 280+ cryptocurrencies is room for improvement compared with some competitors
- KYC process with eID and photo ID is occasionally criticized as time-consuming
Score Comparison
User Experiences
AI AnalysisAccording to the analyzed user reviews, OKX is mentioned by many users for its intuitive app, easy usability, and wide range of coins. At the same time, users also report critical experiences with support, as well as occasionally with blocked accounts or blocked withdrawals.
Provider details (fees, licences, pros and cons) editorially reviewed: November 2026. Investing in crypto assets carries a high level of risk, up to and including total loss of capital. This is not investment advice. Figures without guarantee, check current conditions with the provider.
Features
| not specified | Savings plan | available |
| not specified | Staking | available |
| not specified | Wallet transfer | available |
| not specified | Cost transparency | available |
| not specified | 2FA security | available |
| not specified | Anti-phishing code | available |
| not specified | Passkey login | available |
| not specified | Wallet whitelist | available |
| not specified | Mobile app (iOS/Android) | available |
| not specified | Web platform | available |
- MiCA and PSD2 licensed through Gate Technology Ltd in Malta
- Gate EU with more than 200 cryptocurrencies against the euro and USDC
- One of the first exchanges with a MiCA license in the EU
- Total costs of €2.00 per €1,000 on a spot-only account
- Proof of reserve available for transparency
- Express purchases via PayPal, Apple Pay, and Google Pay possible
- Minimum investment from just 1 €
- Futures and spot margin up to 10x, tokenized stocks and ETFs
- OKX Shield: protection against third-party account takeovers, up to €500,000 depending on account tier
- OKX Card (Mastercard) with no monthly or annual card fee
The five areas head to head
AI AnalysisFees & Costs
Spot on Gate EU: 0.1% for makers and takers (VIP 0). The fee falls step by step with your 30-day volume or account balance, and makers pay 0% from VIP 10. Gate EU does not offer futures (as of 1 November 2026).
When it comes to fees, users report a mixed impression: on the one hand, low costs are mentioned; on the other hand, some users perceive the fees as high. According to reviews, the perception of costs from the user perspective apparently depends on usage and transaction type.
Usability & User Experience
Not enough reviews available.
According to reviews, users at OKX especially appreciate the intuitive app, the easy handling, and the clean interface. In everyday use, the platform is described by many as easy to understand. Occasionally, users also would like a German-language interface and a landscape mode.
Features & Offering
Not enough reviews available.
According to user reviews, the range of coins and features is viewed positively by many. Users report that the platform is experienced as versatile and offers different use cases. Occasionally, users would like more fiat options, additional bot options, and adjustments to the withdrawal whitelist.
Stability & Security
Not enough reviews available.
Regarding stability and reliability, users report in some cases smooth usage and in other cases problems related to accounts or withdrawals. In the reviews, blocked accounts and blocked withdrawals are occasionally mentioned. Overall, the user data does not present a uniform picture.
Customer Support
Not enough reviews available.
The user reviews of support are mostly critical. Users report slow or unanswered replies, and occasionally describe customer service as not helpful or as not being perceived at all. In addition, several users would like better support in German.
Details
| Gate Technology Ltd | Company | OKX Europe Ltd |
| 2013 | Founded | 2017 |
| MiCA licence via MFSA (Malta) | Regulation | MiCA licence, MiFID II licence and payment institution (MFSA, Malta) |
| ~$10 USD | Minimum Amount | ~$10 USD |
| Photo ID and selfie (required before deposits and withdrawals) | KYC | eID, Photo ID |
Verdict
In our overall rating OKX leads with 4.5 against 3.7 for Gate.io.
For most investors OKX is therefore the better choice.
Gate, known as Gate.io until May 2025, is one of the exchanges with the widest altcoin selection worldwide: according to Gate, more than 5,400 cryptocurrencies can be traded on its global platform. Customers in the EEA are served through Gate EU, run by Gate Technology Ltd in Malta. Malta's regulator MFSA authorised the company as a crypto-asset service provider under MiCA on 29 September 2025; the authorisation is passported across the EEA, and the company also holds a licence for payment services. Since the end of June 2026, Gate has been moving existing EEA customers from the global platform to Gate EU step by step.
Gate EU is leaner than the global exchange: on 1 November 2026 it listed more than 200 cryptocurrencies, each against the euro and USDC. It also offers convert, OTC trading, staking and the Gate Card; futures, USDT pairs and the in-house GT token are not part of the offering. The spot fee is 0.1% for makers and takers and falls with trading volume, with makers paying nothing from VIP 10.
Our verdict: for experienced altcoin traders in Europe, Gate EU is a regulated option with a broad selection and a low spot fee. It is not designed for futures trading.
In short: OKX is one of the large international crypto exchanges and serves investors in the EU through OKX Europe, licensed under MiCA in Malta. You can trade more than 280 crypto-assets, from 0.10% maker and 0.20% taker on a spot-only account, or from 0.08% and 0.10% with a spot and derivatives account. Add futures up to 10x, trading bots, tokenised stocks, a recurring-buy savings plan and the OKX Card. If you want a regulated exchange with a wide range of features and low fees, OKX is a strong choice.
Is OKX safe and licensed in the EU?
Yes, OKX may serve customers across the EU. OKX Europe Limited, based in Sliema, Malta, has been authorised as a crypto-asset service provider under MiCA since 27 January 2025, granted by the Malta Financial Services Authority (MFSA). Through the EU passport the licence covers 29 EEA countries, including Germany, France and Spain (ESMA register, file of 30 October 2026). It covers, among other things, custody, operating a trading platform, exchanging crypto-assets for funds and for other crypto-assets, executing orders, portfolio management and transfers. According to OKX, it also holds MiFID II and payment institution authorisations.
Reserves: OKX regularly publishes a proof of reserves, most recently its 46th report as of 3 October 2026: coverage of 110% for Bitcoin, 100% for Ether, 105% for USDT and 101% for USDC (OKX proof of reserves).
What you can do yourself: the anti-phishing code you set in your account protects you against scams with fake emails, because it appears in every genuine email from OKX. Add two-factor authentication or a passkey, a withdrawal address whitelist and, for larger amounts, your own hardware wallet.
Who is OKX for?
OKX suits investors in the EU who want to trade actively on a licensed exchange: spot, futures, bots and tokenised stocks on one platform, with low order book fees. If you mainly want a savings plan in a lean app, take a look at Bitvavo or Bitpanda; Kraken is another large exchange with a MiCA licence. All licensed providers are listed in our comparison of regulated crypto exchanges.