OKX vs SafePal Comparison
| 0.2 % | Fees | — |
| € 2.00 | Minimum cost per €1,000 | — |
| 280+ | Cryptos | — |
| Deposits: SEPA / SEPA Instant, Easy Transfer, Credit Card and PayPal Express purchases: PayPal, Google Pay, Apple Pay and Credit Card | Payment Methods | — |
| MiCA licence, MiFID II licence and payment institution (MFSA, Malta) | Regulation | — |
Cost comparison
The basis is a Bitcoin purchase worth €1,000, calculated from the disclosed trading fee. A price markup in the spread is not included, because most providers do not publish it.
| € 2.00 | Minimum cost per €1,000 | — |
| 0.2 % | Fees | — |
| € 1.08 | Wallet transfer | — |
| Yes | Cost transparency | — |
| ~$10 USD | Minimum Amount | — |
| Deposits: SEPA / SEPA Instant, Easy Transfer, Credit Card and PayPal Express purchases: PayPal, Google Pay, Apple Pay and Credit Card | Payment Methods | — |
OKX Europe charges spot fees by account type: the spot-only account costs 0.10% maker and 0.20% taker in the base tier, the spot and derivatives account 0.08% and 0.10%.
| Transaction | Cost at OKX Europe |
|---|---|
| Spot trading, spot-only account, regular user | 0.10% maker, 0.20% taker |
| Spot trading, spot and derivatives account, regular user | 0.08% maker, 0.10% taker |
| VIP 1 in the spot and derivatives account (from EUR 100,000 assets or EUR 1m volume in 30 days) | 0.0675% maker, 0.08% taker |
| Zero-fee pairs | selected spot pairs at 0% maker and taker |
| Crypto withdrawals | network fee per coin |
How to save: On a EUR 1,000 buy as a taker, the spot-only account costs EUR 2 and the spot and derivatives account EUR 1. Limit orders as a maker are cheaper in both account types. See how OKX compares in our crypto exchange comparison.
Fees as of 24 October 2026 according to the OKX Europe fee page.
OKX bonus and promotions (October 2026)
Welcome bonus of up to €400: if you sign up with the cryptoticker.io referral code and complete account verification, you receive a €100 X-Perps voucher from a deposit of €1. The reward rises with your trading volume: €125 from €25,000, €175 from €75,000, €250 from €150,000 and €400 from €300,000. Crypto rewards are locked for withdrawals for up to 45 days. The programme is open to new users in the EEA; the OKX bonus terms apply.
Further promotions: on USDT you deposit and convert to USDC, OKX pays an 8% bonus, up to €3,500; the promotion ends on 13 November 2026. If you hold a VIP tier at another exchange, you can carry it over to OKX.
You can open an OKX account through our partner link to OKX; cryptoticker.io receives a commission when an account is opened. Offers as of 24 October 2026.
The SafePal app is free. Costs arise when you send, in the form of the network fee, and when you swap or buy, which SafePal handles through third-party providers: their fees apply, and under the terms of service SafePal may charge its own fees.
| Action | Cost at SafePal |
|---|---|
| Download and use the app | free |
| Send crypto | network fee of the blockchain |
| Swap and buy in the app | the provider's fees, plus possible SafePal fees under the terms of service |
| S1, S1 Pro, X1 hardware | price and shipping as listed on the website, the app stays free |
How to save: compare the amount shown with the market price before you swap. On a 1,000 euro swap, every percentage point of difference costs 10 euros. Larger moves are often cheaper on an exchange with a published fee schedule from our exchange comparison.
Tax: in many countries a swap is a disposal and can be taxable. A tool from our crypto tax software comparison keeps the records.
Adding hardware: our hardware wallet comparison shows which devices suit you. What the breach means for buyers is covered in our report SafePal data breach of order data, and storing the words in our guide to storing a seed phrase safely. More wallets are compared in our software wallet comparison.
As of 27 October 2026 according to the App Store description, the company page, the terms of service (as of 5 September 2024) and the security notice of 16 August 2026 with the update of 18 August.
Pros & Cons
- MiCA, MiFID II and payment institution licences via OKX Europe in Malta
- Spot fee of 0.20% taker on a spot-only account, 0.10% with a derivatives account
- Total costs of €2.00 per €1,000
- Proof of reserve is provided
- Wide range of payment methods: SEPA, PayPal, credit card, Apple Pay, Google Pay
- Savings plan via recurring buy (daily to monthly) and staking available
- Selection of 280+ cryptocurrencies is room for improvement compared with some competitors
- KYC process with eID and photo ID is occasionally criticized as time-consuming
- 10,000+ cryptocurrencies on 200+ blockchains
- Pairs with SafePal hardware (S1, S1 Pro, X1)
- High ratings on the App Store and Google Play
- From the first Binance Labs incubation program, per safepal.com
- dApp access and exchange link in the app
- Order data breach in August 2026
- Swap and purchase fees set by third-party providers, SafePal fees possible
- As with any self-custody wallet, no deposit protection: custody is your responsibility
Score Comparison
User Experiences
AI AnalysisAccording to the analyzed user reviews, OKX is mentioned by many users for its intuitive app, easy usability, and wide range of coins. At the same time, users also report critical experiences with support, as well as occasionally with blocked accounts or blocked withdrawals.
Not enough reviews available.
This analysis is based on 794 user reviews evaluated by AI from the Apple App Store, Trustpilot, Google Play Store. The total number of reviews on the respective platforms may be higher, the platform ratings (star ratings) shown refer to all reviews available there. The reviews shown reflect users' experiences and do not represent the site operator's own assessment. All information without guarantee. Ratings as of: September 2026; review summaries as of: March 2026. This comparison does not constitute investment advice.
Features
| available | Savings plan | not specified |
| available | Staking | not specified |
| available | Wallet transfer | not specified |
| available | Cost transparency | not specified |
| available | 2FA security | not specified |
| available | Anti-phishing code | not specified |
| available | Passkey login | not specified |
| available | Wallet whitelist | not specified |
| available | Mobile app (iOS/Android) | not specified |
| available | Web platform | not specified |
- One of the first exchanges with a MiCA license in the EU
- Total costs of €2.00 per €1,000 on a spot-only account
- Proof of reserve available for transparency
- Express purchases via PayPal, Apple Pay, and Google Pay possible
- Minimum investment from just 1 €
- Futures and spot margin up to 10x, tokenized stocks and ETFs
- OKX Shield: protection against third-party account takeovers, up to €500,000 depending on account tier
- OKX Card (Mastercard) with no monthly or annual card fee
- 200+ blockchains
- 10,000+ cryptocurrencies
- Software and hardware from one provider
- 4.7 stars on the App Store
The five areas head to head
AI AnalysisFees & Costs
When it comes to fees, users report a mixed impression: on the one hand, low costs are mentioned; on the other hand, some users perceive the fees as high. According to reviews, the perception of costs from the user perspective apparently depends on usage and transaction type.
The app itself is free; sending costs the network fee. Swaps and purchases run through third-party providers, and according to the terms of service their fees apply directly between you and that provider. The same terms allow SafePal to charge its own fees for its services, also combined with the provider's fee. So compare the amount shown with the market price before every swap. As of October 2026.
Usability & User Experience
According to reviews, users at OKX especially appreciate the intuitive app, the easy handling, and the clean interface. In everyday use, the platform is described by many as easy to understand. Occasionally, users also would like a German-language interface and a landscape mode.
The SafePal app is free; portfolio, swaps, purchases and dApp access sit in one interface. If you own SafePal hardware, you manage it through the same app. In the German App Store SafePal is rated 4.7 out of 5 (1,022 ratings), on Google Play 4.5 (156,000 reviews, 5 million+ downloads), retrieved on 27 October 2026. As of October 2026.
Features & Offering
According to user reviews, the range of coins and features is viewed positively by many. Users report that the platform is experienced as versatile and offers different use cases. Occasionally, users would like more fiat options, additional bot options, and adjustments to the withdrawal whitelist.
According to SafePal, the app manages 10,000+ cryptocurrencies on 200+ blockchains, including Bitcoin, Ethereum and Solana. In the app you buy and swap coins through third-party providers, connect to decentralized applications and can link an exchange such as Binance. Some third-party providers require their own account with identity verification (KYC); according to the terms of service, this data stays with the provider, not with SafePal. For extra security the app pairs with SafePal's own hardware wallets: according to SafePal, the S1 works without any wireless connection, the S1 Pro is its enhanced version, and the X1 is fully open source and connects via Bluetooth. Account and card services in the app are provided through a separate account by the partner Fiat24, which is regulated in Switzerland. As of October 2026.
Stability & Security
Regarding stability and reliability, users report in some cases smooth usage and in other cases problems related to accounts or withdrawals. In the reviews, blocked accounts and blocked withdrawals are occasionally mentioned. Overall, the user data does not present a uniform picture.
SafePal was founded in 2018 by Veronica Wong and two co-founders and, according to a quote from Binance co-founder He Yi on safepal.com, came out of the first Binance Labs incubation program. Since then it has grown from a hardware maker into a full wallet family. According to the terms of service, the contracting party is SkyGenesis Holdings Limited. On 16 August 2026 SafePal reported unauthorized access to the order data of about 39,798 customers from orders placed between 2 March 2025 and 11 April 2026: name, email address, shipping address, phone number and purchase details. According to SafePal, seed phrases, private keys, wallet passwords and payment data were not affected; SafePal names an authorization flaw in the order-tracking function of a plug-in as the cause. According to SafePal, no evidence has been found that the incident compromised access to wallets or funds. On 18 August SafePal added that individuals claim to own the dataset and are offering it for sale; SafePal says it cannot verify these claims. As of October 2026.
Customer Support
The user reviews of support are mostly critical. Users report slow or unanswered replies, and occasionally describe customer service as not helpful or as not being perceived at all. In addition, several users would like better support in German.
Help is available through the SafePal Academy and the contact page on safepal.com, and after the breach through a dedicated channel with extra staff for affected customers. Lost recovery words cannot be replaced by SafePal either, because only you hold the keys. As of October 2026.
Details
| OKX Europe Ltd | Company | SafePal (SkyGenesis Holdings Limited) |
| 2017 | Founded | — |
| MiCA licence, MiFID II licence and payment institution (MFSA, Malta) | Regulation | — |
| ~$10 USD | Minimum Amount | — |
| eID, Photo ID | KYC | — |
Verdict
In our overall rating OKX leads with 4.5 against 3.9 for SafePal.
For most investors OKX is therefore the better choice.
In short: OKX is one of the large international crypto exchanges and serves investors in the EU through OKX Europe, licensed under MiCA in Malta. You can trade more than 280 crypto-assets, from 0.10% maker and 0.20% taker on a spot-only account, or from 0.08% and 0.10% with a spot and derivatives account. Add futures up to 10x, trading bots, tokenised stocks, a recurring-buy savings plan and the OKX Card. If you want a regulated exchange with a wide range of features and low fees, OKX is a strong choice.
Is OKX safe and licensed in the EU?
Yes, OKX may serve customers across the EU. OKX Europe Limited, based in Sliema, Malta, has been authorised as a crypto-asset service provider under MiCA since 27 January 2025, granted by the Malta Financial Services Authority (MFSA). Through the EU passport the licence covers 29 EEA countries, including Germany, France and Spain (ESMA register, file of 22 October 2026). It covers, among other things, custody, operating a trading platform, exchanging crypto-assets for funds and for other crypto-assets, executing orders, portfolio management and transfers. According to OKX, it also holds MiFID II and payment institution authorisations.
Reserves: OKX regularly publishes a proof of reserves, most recently its 46th report as of 3 October 2026: coverage of 110% for Bitcoin, 100% for Ether, 105% for USDT and 101% for USDC (OKX proof of reserves).
What you can do yourself: the anti-phishing code you set in your account protects you against scams with fake emails, because it appears in every genuine email from OKX. Add two-factor authentication or a passkey, a withdrawal address whitelist and, for larger amounts, your own hardware wallet.
Who is OKX for?
OKX suits investors in the EU who want to trade actively on a licensed exchange: spot, futures, bots and tokenised stocks on one platform, with low order book fees. If you mainly want a savings plan in a lean app, take a look at Bitvavo or Bitpanda; Kraken is another large exchange with a MiCA licence. All licensed providers are listed in our comparison of regulated crypto exchanges.
SafePal is the right choice if you want a very large number of networks in one app and plan to add a hardware wallet later: 10,000+ cryptocurrencies on 200+ blockchains, swaps, purchases and dApp access in one interface, plus devices from the same company. In the German App Store, its 4.7 stars are the highest rating among the four wallets we reviewed: Exodus, Atomic Wallet, Rabby and SafePal.
The August 2026 breach affected order data; according to SafePal, keys and wallet credentials were not affected, and no evidence has been found that the incident compromised access to wallets or funds. SafePal does point out that the affected order data can be used for targeted phishing attempts. If you are affected, treat every message in SafePal's name with extra care; our report on the breach explains the steps.
For swaps and purchases SafePal works with third-party providers, and under its terms of service it may add its own fees. If you swap often, compare the amount shown with the market price first; for long-term holdings, pair the app with a device from our hardware wallet comparison.