Binance Pro vs KuCoin Comparison
In our overall rating Binance Pro leads with 4.1 out of 5 points, ahead of KuCoin with 3.9. Our table lists the trading fee as “0.1 %” for Binance Pro and “0.1% maker/taker (spot)” for KuCoin. Binance Pro and KuCoin were both founded in 2017.
| 0.1 % | Fees | 0.1% maker/taker (spot) |
| € 1.00 | Minimum cost per €1,000 | — |
| 482 | Cryptos | — |
| SEPA Instant Transfer, SEPA Transfer, Credit Card | Payment Methods | — |
| License in Germany refused by BaFin | Regulation | MiCA licence from the FMA (Austria) since 27 Nov 2025, FMA does not yet permit commencement of operations |

Cost comparison
The basis is a Bitcoin purchase worth €1,000, calculated from the disclosed trading fee. A price markup in the spread is not included, because most providers do not publish it.
| € 1.00 | Minimum cost per €1,000 | — |
| 0.1 % | Fees | 0.1% maker/taker (spot) |
| € 7.47 | Wallet transfer | — |
| Limited | Cost transparency | — |
| € 1 | Minimum Amount | €10 per order (BTC/EUR) |
| SEPA Instant Transfer, SEPA Transfer, Credit Card | Payment Methods | — |
Binance Pro uses a volume-based maker/taker model. New users pay 0.10% maker and 0.10% taker; from VIP 1 upwards, 30-day spot volume and BNB balance count together. Paying fees in BNB reduces every rate by a further 25%.
| Tier | 30-day volume and BNB balance | Maker | Taker | With BNB (25% off) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Regular user | below USD 1M or 0 BNB | 0.100% | 0.100% | 0.075% / 0.075% |
| VIP 1 | USD 1M+ and 5 BNB | 0.090% | 0.100% | 0.0675% / 0.075% |
| VIP 3 | USD 20M+ and 100 BNB | 0.040% | 0.060% | 0.030% / 0.045% |
| VIP 6 | USD 400M+ and 1,750 BNB | 0.020% | 0.029% | 0.015% / 0.02175% |
| VIP 9 | USD 4B+ and 5,500 BNB | 0.011% | 0.023% | 0.00825% / 0.01725% |
USDC pairs carry a taker rate of 0.095% in the lower tiers, or 0.07125% with BNB. As of 1 November 2026, according to Binance's fee page. This comparison does not constitute investment advice.
Note, as of 1 November 2026: KuCoin EU states on its website that trading and deposits have been suspended since 4 February 2026. The table shows the rates KuCoin EU lists in its fee schedule.
| Transaction | Cost at KuCoin EU |
|---|---|
| Spot trading, base tier VIP 0 | 0.1% maker, 0.1% taker |
| Spot trading, VIP 3 | 0.075% maker, 0.09% taker |
| Spot trading, VIP 6 | 0.025% maker, 0.05% taker |
| Spot trading, VIP 12 | 0% maker, 0.025% taker |
| EUR deposits and withdrawals | via SEPA and SEPA Instant, fee shown before the withdrawal |
| Crypto withdrawals | network fee per coin |
How to save: Rates fall as your VIP tier rises. Users who already hold VIP status at another exchange can apply at KuCoin EU for a tier two levels higher for 60 days. We compare MiCA-licensed exchanges that are open for trading in our crypto exchange comparison.
Fees as of 1 November 2026 according to KuCoin EU VIP tiers and fees.
Pros & Cons
- Volume-based maker/taker model from 0.10%/0.10%
- BNB discount: 25% additional fee reduction when paying in BNB
- Pro order types: limit, market, stop-limit, OCO, trailing stop, limit-maker, iceberg
- API access: REST, WebSocket, and FIX (institutional)
- More than 1,300 spot pairs covering more than 480 crypto assets
- Shared account with standard Binance, seamless switch between Convert and Pro
- No MiCA authorisation granted. Binance is not listed in ESMA's register (file dated 30 October 2026). According to its own statement, Binance withdrew its application with the Greek regulator HCMC on 24 June 2026; as of 1 November 2026 it has not named another member state.
- Hack on 29 October 2026 with losses of around USD 6.3 billion; withdrawals suspended from 30 October to 1 November, reopening step by step since the morning of 1 November (as of 16:30 UTC)
- BaFin license application in Germany withdrawn
- Margin and futures trading restricted for EU retail investors
- Learning curve compared to standard direct-purchase interface has room for improvement
- Lowest VIP tiers only reachable from high 30-day volume onward

- More than 800 coins worldwide, one of the largest altcoin selections
- Spot fees from 0.1% maker and taker, 0% maker from VIP 8
- MiCA licence from the FMA for KuCoin EU since 27 November 2025, valid across the EEA
- Futures, trading bots and earn products in the international offering
- Trading and deposits at KuCoin EU paused since 4 February 2026 (as of 1 November 2026)
- According to the FMA, operations may only start once further governance and management requirements are met
- Guilty plea in the US in January 2025, $297 million penalty
User Experiences
AI AnalysisNo separate analysis -- based on Binance.

Provider details (fees, licences, pros and cons) editorially reviewed: November 2026. This comparison does not constitute investment advice. All information without guarantee.
Features
| not available | Maker/Taker Model | not specified |
| not available | BNB Discount | not specified |
| not available | Order Types | not specified |
| not available | API | not specified |
| not available | Charts | not specified |
| not available | Margin Trading | not specified |
| not available | Futures | not specified |
| not available | BaFin License | not specified |
| not available | MiCA License | not specified |
| not available | Mobile App | not specified |
- Maker/taker model from 0.10% with 25% BNB discount
- Pro order types incl. OCO, trailing stop, and iceberg
- API access via REST, WebSocket, and FIX
- Very broad pair universe from the Binance spot market

- Altcoin exchange with more than 800 coins worldwide
- MiCA licence from the FMA for KuCoin EU, trading there paused since February 2026
The five areas head to head
AI AnalysisFees & Costs
No separate analysis -- based on Binance.

Spot at KuCoin EU: 0.1% maker and 0.1% taker in the base tier, falling with the VIP tier to 0% maker and 0.025% taker. According to KuCoin EU, trading and deposits have been suspended since 4 February 2026 (as of 1 November 2026).
Details
| Binance Holdings Ltd. | Company | KuCoin EU Exchange GmbH |
| 2017 | Founded | 2017 |
| License in Germany refused by BaFin | Regulation | MiCA licence from the FMA (Austria) since 27 Nov 2025, FMA does not yet permit commencement of operations |
| € 1 | Minimum Amount | €10 per order (BTC/EUR) |
| Photo ID | KYC | — |
Verdict
In our overall rating Binance Pro leads with 4.1 against 3.9 for KuCoin.
For most investors Binance Pro is therefore the better choice.
Binance holds no MiCA authorisation in the EU. According to its own statement, the company withdrew its application with the Greek regulator HCMC on 24 June 2026 and said it would pursue authorisation in another EU member state. As of 1 November 2026, Binance has not publicly named that state. Binance does not appear in ESMA's register of authorised crypto-asset service providers (file dated 30 October 2026). Binance itself says users may be affected depending on their country and account status.
Hack in October 2026: According to Binance, hot wallets of the exchange were compromised at around 20:05 UTC on 29 October 2026. Binance puts the loss at around USD 6.3 billion, of which around USD 3 billion has been frozen on-chain. Binance temporarily suspended withdrawals, while deposits continue to work. The exchange says it is covering the losses from its SAFU emergency fund and company funds: on 31 October Binance reported that 90% of the stolen assets had been replenished, with BTC, ETH, USDT, BNB, SOL, USDC and XRP fully covered, and published a new Proof of Reserves snapshot taken at 00:00 UTC on 31 October. Binance announced a phased resumption of withdrawals for Sunday, 1 November 2026; since the morning of 1 November the first withdrawals have been running again; at 16:30 UTC the Binance interface showed them open for Bitcoin, Ether, BNB, Solana, XRP, USDT and USDC.
Binance Pro is the professional trading environment within the Binance ecosystem and is aimed at experienced traders. Instead of the flat direct-purchase fee on the standard interface, a volume-based maker/taker model applies here, with entry rates of 0.10% maker and 0.10% taker. From VIP 1 upwards, you need a balance of at least 5 BNB in addition to USD 1 million in 30-day trading volume; at VIP 9 the rates fall to 0.011% maker and 0.023% taker. Those who pay fees in BNB receive an additional 25% discount, bringing the entry rate to 0.075%. Fees as of 1 November 2026, according to Binance's fee page.
The order set covers limit, market, stop-limit, OCO, trailing stop, limit-maker, and iceberg orders. Margin trading and futures are mapped through separate interfaces within the Binance account, but are restricted for retail investors in the EU. API access is provided via REST, WebSocket, and FIX for institutional users.
Binance Pro is aimed at traders who value low maker/taker conditions, a broad pair selection, and pro order types. Anyone who needs a trading venue authorised in the EU will not find one here at present. This comparison does not constitute investment advice.
In short: KuCoin is popular with altcoin traders: more than 800 coins worldwide, spot trading from 0.1%, plus futures, trading bots and earn products. For investors in the EU, KuCoin EU is responsible, the European company with a MiCA licence from Austria. Trading and deposits there have been paused since 4 February 2026. If you are looking for an account to trade today, choose an exchange that is fully operating.
Is KuCoin safe and licensed in the EU?
The licence is in place, trading at KuCoin EU is paused. KuCoin EU Exchange GmbH, based in Vienna, has been authorised as a crypto-asset service provider under Article 63 of MiCA since 27 November 2025, granted by Austria's Financial Market Authority (FMA). Through the EU passport the licence covers 29 EEA countries, including Germany, France and Spain (ESMA register, file of 30 October 2026). It covers custody, exchanging crypto-assets for funds and for other crypto-assets, placing and transfers.
Why trading is paused: On its website, KuCoin EU states that trading and deposits have been suspended since 4 February 2026 (as of 1 November 2026). The FMA ordered a ban on new business on 19 February 2026 because the money laundering and sanctions officer posts were no longer filled, and lifted it on 18 May 2026. Under a decision of 18 February 2026, however, KuCoin EU may only start operating once all supervisory requirements are met, in particular on governance and on filling further key positions in management (FMA notice). The FMA had not published any newer decision by 1 November 2026.
Track record: In January 2025, KuCoin's parent company Peken Global pleaded guilty in the US to operating an unlicensed money transmitting business, paid $297 million and withdrew from the US for at least two years (our report). In October 2026 South Korea blocked access to KuCoin because the exchange is not registered there (South Korea blocks 27 exchanges).
What you can do yourself: if you still hold funds at KuCoin, read the notices in your account, turn on two-factor authentication and a withdrawal address whitelist, and keep larger amounts in your own wallet, for example a hardware wallet.
Who is KuCoin for?
KuCoin suits experienced altcoin traders who want a very large choice of small coins and who live in a country where KuCoin accepts customers. For trading from the EU, exchanges with a MiCA licence and full operations are the better fit, such as Bybit EU, OKX, Kraken or Bitvavo. All licensed providers are listed in our comparison of regulated crypto exchanges.