Gate.io vs Revolut Comparison
In our overall rating Revolut leads with 4.3 out of 5 points, ahead of Gate.io with 3.7. Our table lists the trading fee as “0.1% spot (maker and taker)” for Gate.io and “1.49 %” for Revolut. If you care most about features, Gate.io has the better sub-score, while Revolut leads on usability, stability, and support.
| 0.1% spot (maker and taker) | Fees | 1.49 % |
| — | Minimum cost per €1,000 | € 14.90 |
| — | Cryptos | 300+ |
| — | Payment Methods | SEPA Instant Transfer, SEPA Transfer, Credit Card |
| MiCA licence via MFSA (Malta) | Regulation | MiCA regulation through RT Digital Securities Cyprus Ltd. (RTDSCL) in Cyprus by CySEC with registration number 001/22 |
Cost comparison
The basis is a Bitcoin purchase worth €1,000, calculated from the disclosed trading fee. A price markup in the spread is not included, because most providers do not publish it.
| — | Minimum cost per €1,000 | € 14.90 |
| 0.1% spot (maker and taker) | Fees | 1.49 % |
| — | Wallet transfer | € 1.49 |
| — | Cost transparency | No |
| ~$10 USD | Minimum Amount | € 1.50 |
| — | Payment Methods | SEPA Instant Transfer, SEPA Transfer, Credit Card |
Not enough reviews available.
Revolut charges crypto purchases and sales in the app according to your plan and your trading volume over the past 30 days. You pay whichever is higher, the percentage fee or the minimum fee; according to Revolut, a one-sided spread of typically 0 to 3% comes on top. In Germany the plans cost €0 (Standard), €2.99 (Plus), €8.99 (Premium), €15.99 (Metal) and €65 (Ultra) a month.
| Transaction | Standard and Plus | Premium and Metal | Ultra |
|---|---|---|---|
| Crypto purchase or sale in the app, up to €10,000 of volume in 30 days | 1.49% | 0.99% | 0.49% |
| €10,000 to €50,000 | 1.29% | 0.79% | 0.39% |
| €50,000 to €100,000 | 1.09% | 0.69% | 0.29% |
| €100,000 to €250,000 | 0.89% | 0.49% | 0.19% |
| €250,000 and above | 0.49% | 0.29% | 0% |
| Minimum fee on an order of €100 to €150 | €2.49 | €1.49 | €0.99 |
| Recurring buy (savings plan) | percentage fee, no minimum fee | percentage fee, no minimum fee | percentage fee, no minimum fee |
| Fair usage fee on exchanges above the monthly limit | Standard 1% above €1,000, Plus 0.5% above €3,000 | none | none |
| Custody and crypto deposits | €0 | €0 | €0 |
| Crypto withdrawal to an external wallet | service fee equivalent to £3 (£1 for XRP, XLM, DOT, SOL, AVAX, XTZ, ALGO and ADA) plus the network fee | ||
| Trading on the Revolut X exchange | 0% maker, 0.09% taker, regardless of plan | ||
How to save: A €100 purchase costs €2.49 on the Standard plan because of the minimum fee; from €200 the percentage applies, which is €14.90 on €1,000. The same €1,000 market order costs €0.90 in taker fees on Revolut X, and a limit order as a maker costs nothing. Recurring buys pay no minimum fee. If you regularly exchange more than €1,000 a month on the Standard plan, you pay a 1% fair usage fee on the rest; Plus raises the limit to €3,000 for €2.99 a month.
As of 1 November 2026 according to the “Exchanging Cryptocurrencies” fee schedule of Revolut Digital Assets Europe Ltd, the euro tables for volume tiers and minimum fees, the Revolut X page and Revolut's plan comparison for Germany.
Pros & Cons
- MiCA authorisation as a crypto-asset service provider from Malta's MFSA since 29 September 2025, passported across the EEA, plus a licence for payment services
- Gate EU with localised sites: more than 200 cryptocurrencies, each tradable against the euro and USDC
- Spot fee of 0.1% for makers and takers, makers pay 0% from VIP 10
- Convert, OTC trading, staking and the Gate Card alongside spot trading
- A much smaller selection for EU customers than on the global platform, which according to Gate lists more than 5,400 cryptocurrencies
- No futures trading on Gate EU
- No USDT pairs, no GT token and no GT fee discount on Gate EU
- Migration required: existing EEA customers of the global platform are being moved to Gate EU step by step
- More than 300 tokens tradable, the widest selection among the brokers compared here
- Transfers of BTC, ETH and more than 30 other tokens to your own wallets, with biometric confirmation for withdrawals
- Staking and recurring investments available, recurring buys without a minimum fee
- Deposits via SEPA, SEPA instant transfer and credit card
- MiCA authorisation held by Revolut Digital Assets (Europe) Ltd, CySEC licence CASP001/25 of 20 October 2025
- Revolut's own exchange Revolut X with 0% maker and 0.09% taker fees and over 400 trading pairs
- On the Standard and Plus plans a crypto purchase in the app costs 1.49%, on Premium and Metal 0.99% and on Ultra 0.49% (up to €10,000 of volume in 30 days); a minimum fee applies to small amounts, so a €100 purchase costs €2.49 on Standard
- According to Revolut, a one-sided spread of typically 0 to 3% comes on top; on the Standard plan, exchanges above €1,000 a month also incur a 1% fair usage fee (Plus: 0.5% above €3,000)
- Crypto withdrawals to an external wallet cost a service fee equivalent to £3 (£1 for XRP, XLM, DOT, SOL, AVAX, XTZ, ALGO and ADA) plus the network fee
- Cost transparency at the transaction confirmation has room for improvement, according to users
- In September 2026, Revolut confirmed it had handed over identity and account data of around 680 customers in Europe in response to forged requests from an authority; according to Revolut, its systems and customer funds were not affected
Score Comparison
User Experiences
AI AnalysisBased on the analyzed user reviews, Revolut presents an overall predominantly positive picture. Users especially appreciate the clear, intuitive app and often report that it is easy to use, while support and individual features are described in reviews as having room for improvement in some cases.
Provider details (fees, licences, pros and cons) editorially reviewed: November 2026. Investing in crypto assets carries a high level of risk, up to and including total loss of capital. This is not investment advice. Figures without guarantee, check current conditions with the provider.
Features
| not specified | Savings plan | available |
| not specified | Staking | available |
| not specified | Wallet transfer | available |
| not specified | Credit card payment | available |
| not specified | MiCA regulation | available |
| not specified | Web platform | available |
| not specified | Mobile app (iOS/Android) | available |
| not specified | Biometric security | available |
| not specified | SEPA Instant Transfer | available |
- MiCA and PSD2 licensed through Gate Technology Ltd in Malta
- Gate EU with more than 200 cryptocurrencies against the euro and USDC
- Over 300 tradeable cryptocurrencies
- Crypto, card payments, transfers, and currency exchange in one app
- MiCA-regulated via CySEC-registered subsidiary
- Wallet transfer and staking available
The five areas head to head
AI AnalysisFees & Costs
Spot on Gate EU: 0.1% for makers and takers (VIP 0). The fee falls step by step with your 30-day volume or account balance, and makers pay 0% from VIP 10. Gate EU does not offer futures (as of 1 November 2026).
Users provide only a few concrete experiences regarding fees and costs. Revolut is occasionally perceived as more expensive than N26. Overall, this area can only be assessed to a limited extent based on the available user data.
Usability & User Experience
Not enough reviews available.
Users especially appreciate Revolut's clear and intuitive app. According to reviews, it is very easy to use, and the interface is repeatedly described as fast and straightforward. However, some users occasionally report display or compatibility issues, which means usability is sometimes seen as having room for improvement.
Features & Offering
Not enough reviews available.
When it comes to features, users report mixed experiences. According to reviews, individual services are used gladly in everyday life, while some users would like familiar functions, cashback programs, or additional options such as cash deposits. It is also occasionally criticized that certain features do not work as expected or that advantages could be removed in the future.
Stability & Security
Not enough reviews available.
Regarding stability and reliability, users report a mostly positive experience with Revolut. According to reviews, the app is repeatedly described as fast and reliable, which is appreciated by many users in everyday use. However, account issues or features not working as expected are occasionally mentioned; overall, though, feedback on reliability is largely positive.
Customer Support
Not enough reviews available.
When it comes to support, users speak rather cautiously about their experiences. According to reviews, it is occasionally criticized that bot support is offered instead of human help and that not every case is covered sufficiently. As a result, some users feel that support has room for improvement in certain situations.
Details
| Gate Technology Ltd | Company | Revolut Ltd. |
| 2013 | Founded | 2015 |
| MiCA licence via MFSA (Malta) | Regulation | MiCA regulation through RT Digital Securities Cyprus Ltd. (RTDSCL) in Cyprus by CySEC with registration number 001/22 |
| ~$10 USD | Minimum Amount | € 1.50 |
| Photo ID and selfie (required before deposits and withdrawals) | KYC | Photo ID |
Verdict
In our overall rating Revolut leads with 4.3 against 3.7 for Gate.io.
For most investors Revolut is therefore the better choice.
Gate, known as Gate.io until May 2025, is one of the exchanges with the widest altcoin selection worldwide: according to Gate, more than 5,400 cryptocurrencies can be traded on its global platform. Customers in the EEA are served through Gate EU, run by Gate Technology Ltd in Malta. Malta's regulator MFSA authorised the company as a crypto-asset service provider under MiCA on 29 September 2025; the authorisation is passported across the EEA, and the company also holds a licence for payment services. Since the end of June 2026, Gate has been moving existing EEA customers from the global platform to Gate EU step by step.
Gate EU is leaner than the global exchange: on 1 November 2026 it listed more than 200 cryptocurrencies, each against the euro and USDC. It also offers convert, OTC trading, staking and the Gate Card; futures, USDT pairs and the in-house GT token are not part of the offering. The spot fee is 0.1% for makers and takers and falls with trading volume, with makers paying nothing from VIP 10.
Our verdict: for experienced altcoin traders in Europe, Gate EU is a regulated option with a broad selection and a low spot fee. It is not designed for futures trading.
Revolut is considered one of the most versatile financial apps in the DACH region and is popular with users who want to manage crypto, banking, card payments, and currency exchange in a single application. With more than 300 tradeable cryptocurrencies, Revolut offers by far the broadest coin selection among the brokers compared here. The crypto business sits with the Cypriot entity Revolut Digital Assets (Europe) Ltd., which has held licence CASP001/25 in the CySEC MiCAR register since 20 October 2025. The entity previously named here, RT Digital Securities Cyprus Ltd., is no longer listed there.
Unlike many German neobrokers, Revolut enables transfers to your own wallets, according to Revolut for BTC, ETH and more than 30 other tokens, as well as staking and recurring investments. Biometric verification for withdrawals is viewed positively as an additional security feature. Deposits are possible via SEPA, SEPA Instant Transfer, and credit card, which increases flexibility.
Costs deserve a close look: Revolut advertises exchange fees “from 0%”, but that rate only applies on the Ultra plan above €250,000 of trading volume in 30 days. According to the fee schedule of Revolut Digital Assets Europe, a crypto purchase in the app costs 1.49% on the Standard and Plus plans, 0.99% on Premium and Metal and 0.49% on Ultra, with lower rates at higher volumes. Small orders are subject to a minimum fee, so a €100 purchase costs €2.49 on the Standard plan, and a one-sided spread of typically 0 to 3% comes on top. Trading is considerably cheaper on Revolut's own exchange Revolut X, at 0% maker and 0.09% taker fees. Revolut is therefore especially suitable for investors looking for a wide selection of coins with wallet functionality in an all-in-one financial app.
In September 2026, Revolut confirmed that it had handed over customer data, including identity documents, account statements and transaction histories, in response to forged information requests sent from the email account of a genuine public authority. According to Revolut, around 680 customers in Europe were affected, while its systems and customer funds were not. On 20 October 2026, the app was disrupted for part of the day following an outage at Google Cloud; Revolut said customers' money and data were safe.