Gate.io vs Kraken Comparison
In our overall rating Kraken leads with 4.2 out of 5 points, ahead of Gate.io with 3.7. Our table lists the trading fee as “0.1% spot (maker and taker)” for Gate.io and “1 %” for Kraken. If you care most about features and fees, Gate.io has the better sub-scores, while Kraken leads on usability and support.
| 0.1% spot (maker and taker) | Fees | 1 % |
| — | Minimum cost per €1,000 | € 10.00 |
| — | Cryptos | 629 |
| — | Payment Methods | SEPA Instant Transfer, SEPA Transfer, PayPal, Credit Card |
| MiCA licence via MFSA (Malta) | Regulation | EU: MiCA USA: CFTC UK: FCA |
Cost comparison
The basis is a Bitcoin purchase worth €1,000, calculated from the disclosed trading fee. A price markup in the spread is not included, because most providers do not publish it.
| — | Minimum cost per €1,000 | € 10.00 |
| 0.1% spot (maker and taker) | Fees | 1 % |
| — | Wallet transfer | € 1.49 |
| — | Cost transparency | Limited |
| ~$10 USD | Minimum Amount | € 1 |
| — | Payment Methods | SEPA Instant Transfer, SEPA Transfer, PayPal, Credit Card |
Not enough reviews available.
At Kraken the route sets the price: simple buys in the app and on the web cost a fixed fee plus a spread, while Kraken Pro charges maker and taker rates based on your volume over the last 30 days.
| Transaction | Cost at Kraken |
|---|---|
| Instant buy, instant sell and recurring buys | 1% plus spread in the price |
| Custom orders in simple mode | 1.5% plus spread |
| Kraken+ (subscription) | no trading fee up to USD 10,000 volume per month, spread and card fees still apply |
| Converting small balances | 3% below the minimum order size |
| Kraken Pro, tier 1 (up to USD 2,500 in 30 days) | 0.40% maker, 0.80% taker |
| Kraken Pro, tier 3 (from USD 10,000) | 0.22% maker, 0.38% taker |
| Kraken Pro, tier 5 (from USD 50,000) | 0.15% maker, 0.30% taker |
| Deposits and withdrawals | depending on method and currency, shown before you confirm |
How to save: Even in tier 1, Kraken Pro at 0.80% taker is cheaper than an instant buy at 1% plus spread, and limit orders as a maker cost 0.40%. If you buy less than USD 10,000 a month, look at Kraken+. See how Kraken compares in our crypto exchange comparison.
Fees as of 1 November 2026 according to the Kraken fee schedule.
You can open a Kraken account through our partner link to Kraken; cryptoticker.io receives a commission when an account is opened. As of 1 November 2026.
Pros & Cons
- MiCA authorisation as a crypto-asset service provider from Malta's MFSA since 29 September 2025, passported across the EEA, plus a licence for payment services
- Gate EU with localised sites: more than 200 cryptocurrencies, each tradable against the euro and USDC
- Spot fee of 0.1% for makers and takers, makers pay 0% from VIP 10
- Convert, OTC trading, staking and the Gate Card alongside spot trading
- A much smaller selection for EU customers than on the global platform, which according to Gate lists more than 5,400 cryptocurrencies
- No futures trading on Gate EU
- No USDT pairs, no GT token and no GT fee discount on Gate EU
- Migration required: existing EEA customers of the global platform are being moved to Gate EU step by step
- MiCA licence from the Central Bank of Ireland since 25 June 2025, valid across the EU
- More than 600 coins, 490 of them directly against the euro (1 November 2026)
- Proof of reserves by auditors, latest Bitcoin coverage 102.9% (30 June 2026)
- Kraken Pro from 0.40% maker and 0.80% taker
- FIDO2 passkeys, Global Settings Lock, ISO/IEC 27001
- On the market since 2011, with savings plan and staking
- Simple buy at 1% plus spread, custom orders 1.5%
- Regular delistings with withdrawal deadlines, most recently 13 tokens on 23 October 2026
- A dust attack in August 2026 led to temporary account freezes
- The low Pro rates require getting used to an order-book interface
Score Comparison
User Experiences
AI AnalysisAccording to the analyzed user reviews, Kraken is often described as simple and easy to understand, especially with regard to the app and basic usability. At the same time, users mainly report criticism of support-related topics and costs, so the overall picture from a user perspective is mixed.
Provider details (fees, licences, pros and cons) editorially reviewed: November 2026. Investing in crypto assets carries a high level of risk, up to and including total loss of capital. This is not investment advice. Figures without guarantee, check current conditions with the provider.
Features
| not specified | Savings plan | available |
| not specified | Staking | available |
| not specified | Wallet transfer | available |
| not specified | Cost transparency | not available |
| not specified | 2FA security | available |
| not specified | Account lock | available |
| not specified | SEPA instant bank transfer | available |
| not specified | PayPal | available |
| not specified | Credit card | available |
| not specified | Mobile app (iOS/Android) | available |
- MiCA and PSD2 licensed through Gate Technology Ltd in Malta
- Gate EU with more than 200 cryptocurrencies against the euro and USDC
- MiCA licence via Ireland, valid in 30 EEA countries
- More than 600 coins, 490 directly against the euro
- Proof of reserves above 100% coverage
- Kraken Pro for low-cost order-book trading
The five areas head to head
AI AnalysisFees & Costs
Spot on Gate EU: 0.1% for makers and takers (VIP 0). The fee falls step by step with your 30-day volume or account balance, and makers pay 0% from VIP 10. Gate EU does not offer futures (as of 1 November 2026).
The reviews present a mixed picture when it comes to fees and costs: on the one hand, low fees are mentioned positively several times; on the other hand, users criticize high fees. According to user reviews, the perception of costs is therefore not consistent.
Usability & User Experience
Not enough reviews available.
Users particularly appreciate Kraken’s intuitive app and clear design, which are repeatedly described in reviews as easy to use. According to the reviews, getting started is quick for many users, and overall navigation is also mentioned positively. Some users report that the app does not open immediately, which makes usability appear limited from the perspective of individual reviews.
Features & Offering
Not enough reviews available.
In the analyzed user reviews, there are only a few recurring statements about features and the offering, which is why this area mainly reveals individual requests. Among other things, users want a candlestick chart, a prediction market, an auto-sell function, a 72-hour timer, and a widget for the app. In addition, some users would like more support for beginners and a calendar. Overall, the feedback mainly shows additional feature requests.
Stability & Security
Not enough reviews available.
Regarding stability and reliability, the analyzed user data mainly contains individual critical feedback. Some users report that the app cannot be opened immediately or that withdrawals are perceived as delayed. Overall, however, the available data is not sufficient, according to the reviews, to derive a clearly reliable user picture for this area.
Customer Support
Not enough reviews available.
When it comes to support, users comparatively often report longer waiting times or no response at all. According to the reviews, missing help and slow reactions are repeatedly criticized, making this area clearly viewed critically from a user perspective. Individual feedback also suggests that issues are not always resolved promptly.
Details
| Gate Technology Ltd | Company | Payward Europe Solutions Limited |
| 2013 | Founded | 2011 |
| MiCA licence via MFSA (Malta) | Regulation | EU: MiCA USA: CFTC UK: FCA |
| ~$10 USD | Minimum Amount | € 1 |
| Photo ID and selfie (required before deposits and withdrawals) | KYC | Photo ID |
Verdict
In our overall rating Kraken leads with 4.2 against 3.7 for Gate.io.
For most investors Kraken is therefore the better choice.
Gate, known as Gate.io until May 2025, is one of the exchanges with the widest altcoin selection worldwide: according to Gate, more than 5,400 cryptocurrencies can be traded on its global platform. Customers in the EEA are served through Gate EU, run by Gate Technology Ltd in Malta. Malta's regulator MFSA authorised the company as a crypto-asset service provider under MiCA on 29 September 2025; the authorisation is passported across the EEA, and the company also holds a licence for payment services. Since the end of June 2026, Gate has been moving existing EEA customers from the global platform to Gate EU step by step.
Gate EU is leaner than the global exchange: on 1 November 2026 it listed more than 200 cryptocurrencies, each against the euro and USDC. It also offers convert, OTC trading, staking and the Gate Card; futures, USDT pairs and the in-house GT token are not part of the offering. The spot fee is 0.1% for makers and takers and falls with trading volume, with makers paying nothing from VIP 10.
Our verdict: for experienced altcoin traders in Europe, Gate EU is a regulated option with a broad selection and a low spot fee. It is not designed for futures trading.
In short: Kraken is one of the oldest crypto exchanges in the world, active since 2011 and licensed under MiCA in the EEA. More than 600 coins, 490 of them directly against the euro, a regular proof of reserves and strong security features speak for the platform. The simple buy costs 1% plus spread; on the Kraken Pro order book you pay from 0.40% as a maker and 0.80% as a taker.
Is Kraken safe and licensed in the EU?
Yes, Kraken may serve customers across the EU. In the EEA, Kraken operates through Payward Europe Solutions Limited, based in Dublin, licensed under MiCA since 25 June 2025 and supervised by the Central Bank of Ireland. Through the EU passport the licence covers 30 EEA countries, including Germany, France and Spain (ESMA register, file of 30 October 2026). It covers custody, exchanging crypto for money and for other crypto, order execution and transfers, among other services. Kraken's parent Payward agreed on 14 October 2026 to buy Lithuania's Saldo Bank; closing is planned for 2027 and needs regulatory approval (our report on the deal).
Reserves and security: Kraken has its proof of reserves prepared regularly by auditors. The snapshot of 30 June 2026 shows coverage of 102.9% for Bitcoin, 100.5% for Ether, 100.6% for Solana and 102.3% for XRP, and 105% or more each for USDC and USDT. Kraken is certified to ISO/IEC 27001:2022, offers two-factor authentication with FIDO2 passkeys and a Global Settings Lock, and does not recover accounts by phone or SMS.
Account freezes and delistings: Between 17 and 24 August 2026, Kraken customers received almost 12,000 tiny deposits from wallets that analytics firms attribute to the sanctioned exchange HTX. Sanctions screening temporarily froze affected accounts; access has since been restored (our report on the dust attack). Kraken also removes tokens from trading regularly, most recently 13 tokens on 23 October 2026; withdrawal deadlines and steps are in our delisting report.
What you can do yourself: turn on a passkey or two-factor authentication and the Global Settings Lock, leave tiny deposits of unknown origin untouched and keep larger amounts on your own hardware wallet.
Who is Kraken for?
Kraken suits investors who want a long-established exchange with a wide choice of euro pairs, a savings plan and staking. Regular traders save with Kraken Pro. Since 26 October 2026, EEA customers with a derivatives account can also trade bitcoin and ether options there after an appropriateness assessment, provided by Cyprus-based Payward Europe Digital Solutions (CY) Limited under CySEC supervision. For simple euro trading, Bitvavo is cheaper, and Coinbase is an alternative with a listed parent company. All licensed providers are listed in our comparison of regulated crypto exchanges.