Gate.io vs Traders Place Comparison

In our overall rating Gate.io leads with 3.7 out of 5 points, ahead of Traders Place with 2.7. Our table lists the trading fee as “0.1% spot (maker and taker)” for Gate.io and “0.9 %” for Traders Place. Gate.io has the better score in all five sub-ratings.

Gate.io
Gate.io
Winner
3.7of 5
Go to Gate.io
vs
Traders Place
Traders Place
2.7of 5
Go to Traders Place
0.1% spot (maker and taker)Fees0.9 %
—Minimum cost per €1,000€ 9.00
—Cryptos59
—Payment MethodsSEPA Transfer
MiCA licence via MFSA (Malta)RegulationCrypto custodian Tangany GmbH has a BaFin license.

Cost comparison

The basis is a Bitcoin purchase worth €1,000, calculated from the disclosed trading fee. A price markup in the spread is not included, because most providers do not publish it.

Gate.ioTraders Place
—Minimum cost per €1,000€ 9.00
0.1% spot (maker and taker)Fees0.9 %
—Wallet transfer–
—Cost transparencyLimited
~$10 USDMinimum Amount€ 1
—Payment MethodsSEPA Transfer

Pros & Cons

Gate.io
Gate.io
Pros
  • MiCA authorisation as a crypto-asset service provider from Malta's MFSA since 29 September 2025, passported across the EEA, plus a licence for payment services
  • Gate EU with localised sites: more than 200 cryptocurrencies, each tradable against the euro and USDC
  • Spot fee of 0.1% for makers and takers, makers pay 0% from VIP 10
  • Convert, OTC trading, staking and the Gate Card alongside spot trading
Cons
  • A much smaller selection for EU customers than on the global platform, which according to Gate lists more than 5,400 cryptocurrencies
  • No futures trading on Gate EU
  • No USDT pairs, no GT token and no GT fee discount on Gate EU
  • Migration required: existing EEA customers of the global platform are being moved to Gate EU step by step
Gate.io Reviews
Traders Place
Traders Place
Pros
  • 59 cryptocurrencies available to trade
  • Savings plans starting from €1 for crypto and securities
  • Crypto custodian Tangany GmbH with BaFin license
  • App available for iOS, Android, and web
  • German broker based in Germany
Cons
  • Wallet transfer to your own wallets not possible – occasionally criticized by users
  • Staking features currently not available – room for improvement
  • Deposits only via SEPA transfer – additional payment methods room for improvement
  • 2FA security based on SMS – expanded options room for improvement
Traders Place Reviews

Score Comparison

4.1Usability2.5
4.7Features2.5
4.4Fees2.8
4.0Stability2.3
3.9Support2.5

User Experiences

AI Analysis
—
App Store
4.4
—
Google Play
4.2
—
Trustpilot
3.2
Gate.io
Gate.io
Praised for its coin selection and early listings; criticised for how complex the platform feels.
Traders Place
Traders Place

According to reviews, Traders Place is generally described as clear and, in many cases, easy to use. At the same time, users repeatedly report difficulties with the app and login, which means the overall impression from a user perspective is mixed.

Provider details (fees, licences, pros and cons) editorially reviewed: November 2026. Investing in crypto assets carries a high level of risk, up to and including total loss of capital. This is not investment advice. Figures without guarantee, check current conditions with the provider.

Features

Gate.ioTraders Place
not specifiedSavings planavailable
not specifiedStakingnot available
not specifiedWallet transfernot available
not specifiedCredit card paymentnot available
not specifiedBaFin-regulated custodianavailable
not specifiedWeb platformavailable
not specifiedMobile app (iOS/Android)available
not specifiedStocks & ETFsavailable
not specifiedSEPA transferavailable
Gate.io
Gate.ioHighlights
  • MiCA and PSD2 licensed through Gate Technology Ltd in Malta
  • Gate EU with more than 200 cryptocurrencies against the euro and USDC
Traders Place
Traders PlaceHighlights
  • German broker with BaFin-licensed crypto custodian Tangany
  • Savings plans from €1 for a low-threshold entry
  • 59 tradable cryptocurrencies
  • Trading fees of 0.9 % for crypto

The five areas head to head

AI Analysis

Fees & Costs

Gate.io
Gate.io

Spot on Gate EU: 0.1% for makers and takers (VIP 0). The fee falls step by step with your 30-day volume or account balance, and makers pay 0% from VIP 10. Gate EU does not offer futures (as of 1 November 2026).

Traders Place
Traders Place

According to reviews, users generally view the fees and conditions positively. Users report fair prices and good conditions. Overall, the available user data contains mostly praise, while major criticism of fees is not a focal point.

Usability & User Experience

Gate.io
Gate.io

Not enough reviews available.

Traders Place
Traders Place

Users appreciate the clear layout and describe the app in many reviews as easy to use. However, according to reviews, the user navigation is also often perceived as not intuitive or somewhat confusing in places. Some users also report that registration and login do not always work smoothly, so from a user perspective the usability still has room for improvement.

Features & Offering

Gate.io
Gate.io

Not enough reviews available.

Traders Place
Traders Place

Users are mainly looking for a tax-loss certificate in the app, two-factor authentication, and more filtering and sorting options. In addition, the lack of push notifications and a watchlist as a tab are mentioned. Some users also want movable logos and small improvements.

Stability & Security

Gate.io
Gate.io

Not enough reviews available.

Traders Place
Traders Place

According to reviews, some users describe Traders Place as reliable. At the same time, users repeatedly report that the app freezes, hangs, or crashes; incorrect prices and interrupted VideoIdent processes are also mentioned. Stability is therefore perceived in a mixed way from a user perspective.

Customer Support

Gate.io
Gate.io

Not enough reviews available.

Traders Place
Traders Place

Users sometimes report fast support, which is explicitly praised in some reviews. At the same time, according to reviews, it is mentioned more often that responses do not arrive or inquiries are not answered. Support is therefore perceived differently overall from a user perspective.

Details

Gate.ioTraders Place
Gate Technology LtdCompanyTraders Place GmbH & Co. KGaA
2013Founded2023
MiCA licence via MFSA (Malta)RegulationCrypto custodian Tangany GmbH has a BaFin license.
~$10 USDMinimum Amount€ 1
Photo ID and selfie (required before deposits and withdrawals)KYCeID, Video-ID

Verdict

In our overall rating Gate.io leads with 3.7 against 2.7 for Traders Place.

Neither provider reaches 4.0 out of 5 in our rating, so we do not give an unreserved recommendation here.

Gate.ioOur Opinion

Gate, known as Gate.io until May 2025, is one of the exchanges with the widest altcoin selection worldwide: according to Gate, more than 5,400 cryptocurrencies can be traded on its global platform. Customers in the EEA are served through Gate EU, run by Gate Technology Ltd in Malta. Malta's regulator MFSA authorised the company as a crypto-asset service provider under MiCA on 29 September 2025; the authorisation is passported across the EEA, and the company also holds a licence for payment services. Since the end of June 2026, Gate has been moving existing EEA customers from the global platform to Gate EU step by step.

Gate EU is leaner than the global exchange: on 1 November 2026 it listed more than 200 cryptocurrencies, each against the euro and USDC. It also offers convert, OTC trading, staking and the Gate Card; futures, USDT pairs and the in-house GT token are not part of the offering. The spot fee is 0.1% for makers and takers and falls with trading volume, with makers paying nothing from VIP 10.

Our verdict: for experienced altcoin traders in Europe, Gate EU is a regulated option with a broad selection and a low spot fee. It is not designed for futures trading.

Traders PlaceOur Opinion

Traders Place is a comparatively young German broker (founded in 2023) that offers 59 cryptocurrencies in addition to stocks and ETFs. Crypto custody is handled by Tangany GmbH, which is licensed by BaFin and is regarded as regulatorily reliable in the DACH region. With savings plans from €1, the broker offers a low-threshold entry point for regular investing in cryptocurrencies.

For investors who prefer a German broker based in Germany and want to use crypto as a supplement to a classic securities account, Traders Place is seen as one of the newer alternatives. The platform can be used via app and web and covers a solid range of cryptocurrencies with 59 coins. Trading fees of 0.9 % are in the middle to upper range among the compared German brokers.

However, wallet transfers to your own wallets are not possible, and staking is currently not offered — both are occasionally criticized by users. The SMS-based 2FA and the limited deposit methods (SEPA transfer only) are also seen as room for improvement. Traders Place is therefore especially suitable for investors who want to try a young German broker with regulated custody and a broad coin offering and can do without wallet functionality.

Frequently asked questions: Gate.io or Traders Place?