Coinbase vs Traders Place Comparison
In our overall rating Coinbase leads with 4.2 out of 5 points, ahead of Traders Place with 2.7. Our table lists the trading fee as “up to 1.875% + spread” for Coinbase and “0.9 %” for Traders Place. Coinbase has the better score in all five sub-ratings. Coinbase lists more cryptocurrencies (404) than Traders Place (59).
| up to 1.875% + spread | Fees | 0.9 % |
| up to € 18.75 + spread | Minimum cost per €1,000 | € 9.00 |
| 404 | Cryptos | 59 |
| SEPA Instant Transfer, SEPA Transfer, Credit Card, PayPal | Payment Methods | SEPA Transfer |
| First company with BaFin crypto license. Deficiencies flagged in 2022, since remediated. MiCA via Luxembourg. | Regulation | Crypto custodian Tangany GmbH has a BaFin license. |
Cost comparison
The basis is a Bitcoin purchase worth €1,000, calculated from the disclosed trading fee. A price markup in the spread is not included, because most providers do not publish it.
| up to € 18.75 + spread | Minimum cost per €1,000 | € 9.00 |
| up to 1.875% + spread | Fees | 0.9 % |
| € 0.24 | Wallet transfer | – |
| No | Cost transparency | Limited |
| € 1 | Minimum Amount | € 1 |
| SEPA Instant Transfer, SEPA Transfer, Credit Card, PayPal | Payment Methods | SEPA Transfer |
Not enough reviews available.
Traders Place charges a fixed percentage of the trade value for crypto, with a surcharge on small orders. The securities account and settlement account are free. The items at a glance:
| Item | Cost at Traders Place |
|---|---|
| Buying or selling crypto assets | 0.9 % of the trade value (0.5 % Traders Place, 0.4 % Baader Bank) |
| Crypto order below €500 trade value | additional €1.00 small-order surcharge |
| Savings plan on crypto ETPs (13 ETPs from 21Shares) | €0 per execution, plus customary market spreads |
| Stocks, ETFs, funds and bonds via gettex | €0 per order from €500 trade value, €0.95 below |
| Securities account and settlement account at Baader Bank | free |
| Transferring crypto assets in or out | not possible |
How to save: The €1 surcharge only applies below €500 trade value. A €100 purchase therefore costs €1.90, or 1.9 %, while a €1,000 purchase costs €9. If you want to put small amounts into crypto regularly, a savings plan on a crypto ETP carries no order fee.
Fees as of 1 November 2026 according to the Traders Place crypto price list.
Pros & Cons
- Savings plan from a one euro minimum
- More than 400 crypto assets traded on Coinbase (1 November 2026), the savings plan is chosen right in the buy dialogue
- MiCA licence from the CSSF via Coinbase Luxembourg S.A., valid in 30 EEA countries
- Broad choice of payment routes including PayPal
- Weekly, on the 1st and 15th or monthly, instalments can also come from the euro balance
- Staking and wallet transfers available
- Fee of up to 1.875% depending on the payment method, high in this comparison
- Costs compound across many small instalments
- Amount and frequency cannot be edited, only cancelled and set up again
- Limited cost transparency on direct purchases
- Withdrawal fees only visible when withdrawing the respective cryptocurrency
- Fines from the Central Bank of Ireland against two Coinbase entities (2025 and 2026)
- 59 cryptocurrencies available to trade, around the clock
- Savings plans from €1 with no order fee, for crypto via 13 crypto ETPs from 21Shares
- Crypto custodian Tangany GmbH with a MiCA licence from BaFin
- Securities account and settlement account at Baader Bank free of charge
- App available for iOS, Android, and web
- German investment firm based in Freilassing, majority owned by the GRAWE Group
- Wallet transfer to your own wallets not possible, the price list rules out moving coins in or out
- No staking on offer
- No savings plans directly on the 59 crypto assets, only on crypto ETPs
- Crypto trading only for customers resident in Germany
- Deposits only via SEPA transfer, additional payment methods would help
- 2FA security based on SMS, expanded options would help
Score Comparison
User Experiences
AI AnalysisNot enough reviews available.
According to reviews, Traders Place is generally described as clear and, in many cases, easy to use. At the same time, users repeatedly report difficulties with the app and login, which means the overall impression from a user perspective is mixed.
Provider details (fees, licences, pros and cons) editorially reviewed: November 2026. Editorial assessment based on publicly documented provider information and independent industry sources. This comparison is not investment or tax advice. All information without guarantee.
Features
| not specified | Savings plan | available |
| not specified | Staking | not available |
| not specified | Wallet transfer | not available |
| not specified | Credit card payment | not available |
| not specified | BaFin-regulated custodian | available |
| not specified | Web platform | available |
| not specified | Mobile app (iOS/Android) | available |
| not specified | Stocks & ETFs | available |
| not specified | SEPA transfer | available |
- Savings plan from one euro
- 400+ crypto assets
- MiCA licence via Luxembourg (CSSF)
- Payment by PayPal supported
- German broker with BaFin-licensed crypto custodian Tangany
- Savings plans from €1 for a low-threshold entry
- 59 tradable cryptocurrencies
- Trading fees of 0.9 % for crypto
The five areas head to head
AI AnalysisFees & Costs
According to the Coinbase help page (retrieved 1 November 2026), the Coinbase fee is up to 1.875% depending on the payment method, plus a spread in the price; on a 1,000 euro purchase that comes to up to 18.75 euro. That is high in this comparison, particularly for a savings plan with many small instalments. Withdrawal fees apply on top; they are calculated dynamically and only become visible when withdrawing the respective cryptocurrency, which limits cost transparency. According to Coinbase, the Coinbase One subscription waives the trading fee with certain limitations, a spread may remain in the price, and the subscription itself costs money. As of 1 November 2026.
According to reviews, users generally view the fees and conditions positively. Users report fair prices and good conditions. Overall, the available user data contains mostly praise, while major criticism of fees is not a focal point.
Usability & User Experience
Setup is straightforward and manageable for newcomers without prior experience. An education programme awards crypto rewards for completed learning modules. As of August 2026.
Users appreciate the clear layout and describe the app in many reviews as easy to use. However, according to reviews, the user navigation is also often perceived as not intuitive or somewhat confusing in places. Some users also report that registration and login do not always work smoothly, so from a user perspective the usability still has room for improvement.
Features & Offering
The savings plan can be set up from one euro and covers more than 400 crypto assets, executed weekly, on the 1st and 15th of the month or monthly. Staking products and transfers to external wallets round out the offering. Payment routes include SEPA transfer, card, PayPal, Apple Pay and Google Pay, though not every method works for the savings plan; the euro balance in the account can also be used. Identity verification runs online with an ID document and a live selfie. As of November 2026.
Users are mainly looking for a tax-loss certificate in the app, two-factor authentication, and more filtering and sorting options. In addition, the lack of push notifications and a watchlist as a tab are mentioned. Some users also want movable logos and small improvements.
Stability & Security
Not enough reviews available.
According to reviews, some users describe Traders Place as reliable. At the same time, users repeatedly report that the app freezes, hangs, or crashes; incorrect prices and interrupted VideoIdent processes are also mentioned. Stability is therefore perceived in a mixed way from a user perspective.
Customer Support
Not enough reviews available.
Users sometimes report fast support, which is explicitly praised in some reviews. At the same time, according to reviews, it is mentioned more often that responses do not arrive or inquiries are not answered. Support is therefore perceived differently overall from a user perspective.
Details
| Coinbase Global, Inc. | Company | Traders Place GmbH & Co. KGaA |
| 2012 | Founded | 2023 |
| First company with BaFin crypto license. Deficiencies flagged in 2022, since remediated. MiCA via Luxembourg. | Regulation | Crypto custodian Tangany GmbH has a BaFin license. |
| € 1 | Minimum Amount | € 1 |
| eID, VideoIdent | KYC | eID, Video-ID |
Verdict
In our overall rating Coinbase leads with 4.2 against 2.7 for Traders Place.
For most investors Coinbase is therefore the better choice.
The Coinbase savings plan targets investors who want to buy regularly and automatically rather than trying to time an entry. The barrier is as low as it gets at a one euro minimum, the range covers more than 400 crypto assets, and execution runs without further intervention: weekly, on the 1st and 15th of the month or monthly. The first purchase is executed as soon as the plan is set up; amount and frequency cannot be changed later, so you cancel the plan and create a new one.
On regulation Coinbase stands well in Europe: it was the first company to hold a BaFin crypto custody licence, and deficiencies identified in 2022 have been remedied according to the company. Crypto services are now provided by Coinbase Luxembourg S.A., licensed under MiCA since 20 June 2025 and supervised by Luxembourg's financial regulator CSSF; the licence covers 30 EEA countries. Payment routes include SEPA transfer, card, PayPal, Apple Pay and Google Pay, an unusually broad selection for the European market. Not every payment method works for the savings plan, the app shows which ones do; instalments can also be paid from the euro balance in the account.
What changed in 2026: Customers in the EEA can no longer buy stablecoins without MiCA authorisation such as USDT, DAI or PYUSD on Coinbase, so they are no longer available for a savings plan either. According to Coinbase, balances still held on the cut-off date of 30 October 2026 are converted once into USDC at the market rate. On 22 October 2026 the Central Bank of Ireland announced a fine of €3.25 million against Coinbase Ireland Limited, which holds euro balances for Coinbase customers: between November 2020 and August 2025 client funds were not adequately safeguarded. The regulator does not allege any loss of client money, and the sanction takes effect once confirmed by the Irish High Court. Details in our Coinbase review.
The sore point is price: up to 1.875% per purchase, depending on the payment method, is high in this comparison, so up to 18.75 euro on 1,000 euro. Across a savings plan with many small instalments that compounds noticeably over the years. Investors who value convenience and regulatory footing above the last fraction of a percent are well served; anyone watching costs should weigh the fees against cheaper savings plan providers.
Traders Place is a comparatively young German broker (founded in 2023) that offers 59 cryptocurrencies in addition to stocks and ETFs. Crypto custody is handled by Tangany GmbH, which is licensed by BaFin and is regarded as regulatorily reliable in the DACH region. Savings plans start at €1 with no order fee, but for crypto they only cover 13 crypto ETPs from 21Shares, not the crypto assets themselves.
How crypto trading works: Traders Place takes the order and passes it to Baader Bank, which buys or sells as a commission agent via Hyphe, currently the only trading venue. The coins are held in custody by Tangany GmbH. All three parties appear in ESMA's MiCA register: Tangany with its own BaFin licence for custody and transfers since 8 August 2025, Traders Place (since 21 July 2025) and Baader Bank with a MiCA notification to BaFin. Trading runs around the clock, and the execution price can differ from the displayed price when markets move sharply. Crypto trading is only open to customers resident in Germany; the majority owner of Traders Place is the Austrian GRAWE Group.
For investors who prefer a German broker based in Germany and want to use crypto as a supplement to a classic securities account, Traders Place is seen as one of the newer alternatives. The platform can be used via app and web and covers a solid range of cryptocurrencies with 59 coins. Trading fees of 0.9 % of the trade value, plus €1 below €500, are in the middle to upper range among the compared German brokers.
However, wallet transfers to your own wallets are not possible, and staking is currently not offered; both are occasionally criticized by users. The SMS-based 2FA and the limited deposit methods (SEPA transfer only) are also seen as room for improvement. Traders Place is therefore especially suitable for investors who want to try a young German broker with regulated custody and a broad coin offering and can do without wallet functionality.