Coinbase vs Trade Republic Comparison
In our overall rating Coinbase leads with 4.2 out of 5 points, ahead of Trade Republic with 2.9. Our table lists the trading fee as “up to 1.875% + spread” for Coinbase and “0 %” for Trade Republic. Coinbase has the better score in all five sub-ratings. Coinbase lists more cryptocurrencies (404) than Trade Republic (50).
| up to 1.875% + spread | Fees | 0 % |
| up to € 18.75 + spread | Minimum cost per €1,000 | € 1.00 + spread |
| 404 | Cryptos | 50 |
| SEPA Instant Transfer, SEPA Transfer, Credit Card, PayPal | Payment Methods | SEPA Instant Transfer, SEPA Transfer, Credit Card |
| First company with BaFin crypto license. Deficiencies flagged in 2022, since remediated. MiCA via Luxembourg. | Regulation | Full banking licence from BaFin, crypto services notified under MiCA (Art. 60) |

Cost comparison
The basis is a Bitcoin purchase worth €1,000, calculated from the disclosed trading fee. A price markup in the spread is not included, because most providers do not publish it.
| up to € 18.75 + spread | Minimum cost per €1,000 | € 1.00 + spread |
| up to 1.875% + spread | Fees | 0 % |
| € 0.24 | Wallet transfer | € 0 + network fee |
| No | Cost transparency | Limited |
| € 1 | Minimum Amount | € 1 |
| SEPA Instant Transfer, SEPA Transfer, Credit Card, PayPal | Payment Methods | SEPA Instant Transfer, SEPA Transfer, Credit Card |
Not enough reviews available.
Trade Republic charges no order commission for crypto trading. Each single order carries a flat fee of EUR 1, while savings plans run without it. Every purchase and sale also includes the spread, the gap between buy and sell price, which is built into the quoted price.
| Transaction | Cost at Trade Republic |
|---|---|
| Buying or selling a cryptocurrency (single order) | EUR 1 flat fee per order, no order commission, plus the spread |
| Crypto savings plan from EUR 1 | no flat fee, only the spread |
| Custody of your coins | free, most of it held in cold wallets at BitGo Europe GmbH |
| Sending to and receiving from external wallets | no Trade Republic fee, only the blockchain's network costs |
| Staking, including SOL, ETH and DOT | no additional fee, the app shows the net yield |
| Paying with crypto via the card | only the spread; 2% Crypto Saveback on up to EUR 1,500 card spending per month if at least EUR 50 goes into savings plans each month |
| Card: monthly fee and withdrawals | free, withdrawals under EUR 100 cost EUR 1 |
How to save: If you buy regularly, use the savings plan, since the EUR 1 flat fee does not apply there. For single orders, larger amounts pay off: on EUR 50 the flat fee is 2%, on EUR 1,000 only 0.1%. We compare exchanges with maker and taker fees in our crypto exchange comparison.
As of 1 November 2026 according to Trade Republic's crypto page and price overview and its help article on crypto fees (German price list).
Pros & Cons
- Savings plan from a one euro minimum
- More than 400 crypto assets traded on Coinbase (1 November 2026), the savings plan is chosen right in the buy dialogue
- MiCA licence from the CSSF via Coinbase Luxembourg S.A., valid in 30 EEA countries
- Broad choice of payment routes including PayPal
- Weekly, on the 1st and 15th or monthly, instalments can also come from the euro balance
- Staking and wallet transfers available
- Fee of up to 1.875% depending on the payment method, high in this comparison
- Costs compound across many small instalments
- Amount and frequency cannot be edited, only cancelled and set up again
- Limited cost transparency on direct purchases
- Withdrawal fees only visible when withdrawing the respective cryptocurrency
- Fines from the Central Bank of Ireland against two Coinbase entities (2025 and 2026)

- MiCA authorisation from BaFin, listed in the French AMF's CASP register as “Licensed MICA” with Germany as the licensing country
- Savings plans for crypto, stocks and ETFs from €1
- Crypto transfers to and from external wallets with no transaction fee charged by Trade Republic
- Staking available, according to the provider for SOL, ETH and DOT among others, at no extra charge
- 2 % Crypto Saveback on card payments up to €1,500 per month
- No order commission on crypto: EUR 1 flat fee per single order, savings plans without it, plus the spread
- 50 cryptocurrencies tradable alongside stocks and ETFs
- Deposits via SEPA, SEPA instant transfer and credit card
- Trade Republic's own help pages contradict its product page: on 1 November 2026 they still stated that sending and receiving crypto was not possible
- Cost transparency on crypto spreads has room for improvement, according to users
- SMS-based two-factor authentication; stronger methods would be welcome
Score Comparison
User Experiences
AI AnalysisNot enough reviews available.

According to the evaluated user data, Trade Republic is especially appreciated for its intuitive and clear app. At the same time, users report room for improvement in support, while fees and individual aspects of the app are perceived in mixed ways according to reviews.
Provider details (fees, licences, pros and cons) editorially reviewed: November 2026. Editorial assessment based on publicly documented provider information and independent industry sources. This comparison is not investment or tax advice. All information without guarantee.
Features
| not specified | Savings plan | available |
| not specified | Staking | not available |
| not specified | Wallet transfer | not available |
| not specified | Credit card payment | available |
| not specified | BaFin regulation | available |
| not specified | Web platform | available |
| not specified | Mobile app (iOS/Android) | available |
| not specified | Stocks & ETFs | available |
| not specified | SEPA instant transfer | available |
- Savings plan from one euro
- 400+ crypto assets
- MiCA licence via Luxembourg (CSSF)
- Payment by PayPal supported

- Neobroker for crypto, stocks, ETFs, and derivatives from a single source
- Savings plans from €1 for long-term wealth building
- MiCA authorisation from BaFin, based in Germany
- 50 tradable cryptocurrencies
- Wallet transfers and staking available
The five areas head to head
AI AnalysisFees & Costs
According to the Coinbase help page (retrieved 1 November 2026), the Coinbase fee is up to 1.875% depending on the payment method, plus a spread in the price; on a 1,000 euro purchase that comes to up to 18.75 euro. That is high in this comparison, particularly for a savings plan with many small instalments. Withdrawal fees apply on top; they are calculated dynamically and only become visible when withdrawing the respective cryptocurrency, which limits cost transparency. According to Coinbase, the Coinbase One subscription waives the trading fee with certain limitations, a spread may remain in the price, and the subscription itself costs money. As of 1 November 2026.

When it comes to fees and costs, user opinions are mixed. Some users describe Trade Republic as inexpensive, while according to reviews, higher fees are also occasionally criticized.
Usability & User Experience
Setup is straightforward and manageable for newcomers without prior experience. An education programme awards crypto rewards for completed learning modules. As of August 2026.

Users particularly appreciate Trade Republic for its intuitive, clear, and easy-to-use app. According to reviews, the application is often described as beginner-friendly, which makes getting started easier. However, the app is also occasionally described as somewhat unclear.
Features & Offering
The savings plan can be set up from one euro and covers more than 400 crypto assets, executed weekly, on the 1st and 15th of the month or monthly. Staking products and transfers to external wallets round out the offering. Payment routes include SEPA transfer, card, PayPal, Apple Pay and Google Pay, though not every method works for the savings plan; the euro balance in the account can also be used. Identity verification runs online with an ID document and a live selfie. As of November 2026.

Users repeatedly wish for availability in Switzerland, an iPad version, and a CSV export. According to reviews, a simpler tax overview and the option for automatic dividend reinvestment are also mentioned occasionally. Wishes are also expressed in the available user data regarding the search function and stop-limit orders.
Stability & Security
Not enough reviews available.

Users report mixed experiences regarding stability and reliability. It is occasionally mentioned that the app crashes, while others describe the app as easy to use in everyday life.
Customer Support
Not enough reviews available.

When it comes to support, many users report room for improvement. According to reviews, it is often mentioned that customer service is difficult to reach or that responses take a while to arrive. In direct contact in particular, users therefore rate support critically.
Details
| Coinbase Global, Inc. | Company | Trade Republic Bank GmbH |
| 2012 | Founded | 2015 |
| First company with BaFin crypto license. Deficiencies flagged in 2022, since remediated. MiCA via Luxembourg. | Regulation | Full banking licence from BaFin, crypto services notified under MiCA (Art. 60) |
| € 1 | Minimum Amount | € 1 |
| eID, VideoIdent | KYC | Video-ID |
Verdict
In our overall rating Coinbase leads with 4.2 against 2.9 for Trade Republic.
For most investors Coinbase is therefore the better choice.
The Coinbase savings plan targets investors who want to buy regularly and automatically rather than trying to time an entry. The barrier is as low as it gets at a one euro minimum, the range covers more than 400 crypto assets, and execution runs without further intervention: weekly, on the 1st and 15th of the month or monthly. The first purchase is executed as soon as the plan is set up; amount and frequency cannot be changed later, so you cancel the plan and create a new one.
On regulation Coinbase stands well in Europe: it was the first company to hold a BaFin crypto custody licence, and deficiencies identified in 2022 have been remedied according to the company. Crypto services are now provided by Coinbase Luxembourg S.A., licensed under MiCA since 20 June 2025 and supervised by Luxembourg's financial regulator CSSF; the licence covers 30 EEA countries. Payment routes include SEPA transfer, card, PayPal, Apple Pay and Google Pay, an unusually broad selection for the European market. Not every payment method works for the savings plan, the app shows which ones do; instalments can also be paid from the euro balance in the account.
What changed in 2026: Customers in the EEA can no longer buy stablecoins without MiCA authorisation such as USDT, DAI or PYUSD on Coinbase, so they are no longer available for a savings plan either. According to Coinbase, balances still held on the cut-off date of 30 October 2026 are converted once into USDC at the market rate. On 22 October 2026 the Central Bank of Ireland announced a fine of €3.25 million against Coinbase Ireland Limited, which holds euro balances for Coinbase customers: between November 2020 and August 2025 client funds were not adequately safeguarded. The regulator does not allege any loss of client money, and the sanction takes effect once confirmed by the Irish High Court. Details in our Coinbase review.
The sore point is price: up to 1.875% per purchase, depending on the payment method, is high in this comparison, so up to 18.75 euro on 1,000 euro. Across a savings plan with many small instalments that compounds noticeably over the years. Investors who value convenience and regulatory footing above the last fraction of a percent are well served; anyone watching costs should weigh the fees against cheaper savings plan providers.
Trade Republic is considered one of the best-known neobrokers in the DACH region and is used by many users as an entry point into the world of cryptocurrencies. Trade Republic is a bank supervised by BaFin and, in addition to 50 cryptocurrencies, also offers stocks, ETFs, and derivatives from a single source. By its own account it is one of the first banks in Europe authorised under the EU's MiCA regulation; ESMA's register has listed the crypto services of Trade Republic Bank GmbH since 28 April 2025, notified to BaFin as a bank under Article 60 of MiCA. Users appreciate that Trade Republic charges no order commission; each single order costs a flat EUR 1, savings plans run without it, and the remaining costs arise through the spread, whose transparency is occasionally rated as room for improvement.
Particularly appreciated are the savings plans from €1, which make it easy to get started with regular crypto investing. For investors who want to manage crypto, stocks, and ETFs in a single app, Trade Republic is considered one of the most accessible solutions on the German market. The app is described as intuitive and clearly geared toward beginners and occasional investors.
The Crypto Wallet lets you send cryptocurrencies to external wallets and receive them from there, according to Trade Republic without any transaction fees of its own. The SMS-based 2FA security is also considered room for improvement. Trade Republic is therefore especially suitable for investors looking for a regulated, uncomplicated way to access cryptocurrencies as part of a broad securities offering and who want to be able to move their coins to a wallet of their own.