Coinbase vs Smartbroker+ Comparison
In our overall rating Smartbroker+ leads with 4.4 out of 5 points, ahead of Coinbase with 4.2. Our table lists the trading fee as “up to 1.875% + spread” for Coinbase and “0.9 %” for Smartbroker+. Coinbase has the better score in all five sub-ratings. Coinbase lists more cryptocurrencies (404) than Smartbroker+ (39).
| up to 1.875% + spread | Fees | 0.9 % |
| up to € 18.75 + spread | Minimum cost per €1,000 | € 9.00 |
| 404 | Cryptos | 39 |
| SEPA Instant Transfer, SEPA Transfer, Credit Card, PayPal | Payment Methods | SEPA Transfer |
| First company with BaFin crypto license. Deficiencies flagged in 2022, since remediated. MiCA via Luxembourg. | Regulation | Crypto custodian Tangany GmbH has a BaFin license |
Cost comparison
The basis is a Bitcoin purchase worth €1,000, calculated from the disclosed trading fee. A price markup in the spread is not included, because most providers do not publish it.
| up to € 18.75 + spread | Minimum cost per €1,000 | € 9.00 |
| up to 1.875% + spread | Fees | 0.9 % |
| € 0.24 | Wallet transfer | – |
| No | Cost transparency | Limited |
| € 1 | Minimum Amount | € 0.01 |
| SEPA Instant Transfer, SEPA Transfer, Credit Card, PayPal | Payment Methods | SEPA Transfer |
Not enough reviews available.
For crypto trades, Smartbroker+ charges a 0.90% mark-up when buying and a 0.90% mark-down when selling on the trading venue's price. The quoted price also contains the trading venue's own margin. Trading runs around the clock against euros, via market order.
| Transaction | Cost at Smartbroker+ |
|---|---|
| Buying or selling a cryptocurrency | 0.90% of the trade value plus the trading venue's mark-up or mark-down |
| Order under €500 | an extra €1 small-order surcharge |
| Order size | from €0.01 to €100,000 per order |
| Securities account and crypto wallet | free, no system fee |
| Savings plan on one of 35 crypto ETPs | no order fee, plus customary spreads and product costs |
| Deposit by SEPA direct debit | up to €5,000 per deposit and €12,000 per month, funds tradable within seconds |
How to save: From an order volume of €500, the small-order surcharge no longer applies. On a €100 order it amounts to 1%, so together with the 0.90% you pay 1.90% plus the trading venue's mark-up. If you want to invest regularly, a savings plan on a crypto ETP runs without an order fee; you then hold a security rather than your own coins.
As of 1 November 2026 according to the Smartbroker+ conditions page and its crypto price and service schedule.
Pros & Cons
- Savings plan from a one euro minimum
- More than 400 crypto assets traded on Coinbase (1 November 2026), the savings plan is chosen right in the buy dialogue
- MiCA licence from the CSSF via Coinbase Luxembourg S.A., valid in 30 EEA countries
- Broad choice of payment routes including PayPal
- Weekly, on the 1st and 15th or monthly, instalments can also come from the euro balance
- Staking and wallet transfers available
- Fee of up to 1.875% depending on the payment method, high in this comparison
- Costs compound across many small instalments
- Amount and frequency cannot be edited, only cancelled and set up again
- Limited cost transparency on direct purchases
- Withdrawal fees only visible when withdrawing the respective cryptocurrency
- Fines from the Central Bank of Ireland against two Coinbase entities (2025 and 2026)
- 39 cryptocurrencies tradable alongside stocks, ETFs, and derivatives
- Savings plans on 35 crypto ETPs with no order fee, plus more than 10,800 savings plans on stocks, ETFs and funds
- Crypto custodian Tangany GmbH, authorised by BaFin under MiCAR since August 2025
- Minimum investment possible from just 0.01 €
- App available for iOS, Android, and web use
- Deposits by SEPA direct debit can be traded within seconds
- No transfers to or from your own wallets: crypto can only be bought and sold within Smartbroker+
- No staking for directly held cryptocurrencies
- On top of the 0.90%, the trading venue's mark-up or mark-down applies, plus a €1 small-order surcharge on orders under €500
- Crypto wallet requires residence in Germany, and trading is only against euros via market order
- Waiting time after registration until first trade is occasionally criticized
Score Comparison
User Experiences
AI AnalysisNot enough reviews available.
According to reviews, Smartbroker+ is generally often described as clear and easy to understand. Users particularly appreciate the simple app experience as well as low fees and conditions, while support-related topics and individual technical points are perceived by some users as having room for improvement.
Provider details (fees, licences, pros and cons) editorially reviewed: November 2026. Editorial assessment based on publicly documented provider information and independent industry sources. This comparison is not investment or tax advice. All information without guarantee.
Features
| not specified | Savings plan | available |
| not specified | Staking | not available |
| not specified | Wallet transfer | not available |
| not specified | Credit card payment | not available |
| not specified | BaFin-regulated custodian | available |
| not specified | Web platform | available |
| not specified | Mobile app (iOS/Android) | available |
| not specified | Stocks & ETFs | available |
| not specified | SEPA transfer | available |
- Savings plan from one euro
- 400+ crypto assets
- MiCA licence via Luxembourg (CSSF)
- Payment by PayPal supported
- Neobroker with stocks, ETFs, derivatives, and crypto on one platform
- BaFin-licensed crypto custodian Tangany GmbH
- Crypto purchases from €0.01, crypto ETP savings plans with no order fee
- Trading fees of 0.9 % for crypto
The five areas head to head
AI AnalysisFees & Costs
According to the Coinbase help page (retrieved 1 November 2026), the Coinbase fee is up to 1.875% depending on the payment method, plus a spread in the price; on a 1,000 euro purchase that comes to up to 18.75 euro. That is high in this comparison, particularly for a savings plan with many small instalments. Withdrawal fees apply on top; they are calculated dynamically and only become visible when withdrawing the respective cryptocurrency, which limits cost transparency. According to Coinbase, the Coinbase One subscription waives the trading fee with certain limitations, a spread may remain in the price, and the subscription itself costs money. As of 1 November 2026.
According to reviews, Smartbroker+ fees are often viewed positively. Users particularly appreciate the low fees and conditions, which are generally perceived as inexpensive. Overall, the pricing data gives a largely positive impression.
Usability & User Experience
Setup is straightforward and manageable for newcomers without prior experience. An education programme awards crypto rewards for completed learning modules. As of August 2026.
Users particularly appreciate the clear and intuitive operation of the Smartbroker+ app. According to reviews, the application is often perceived as easy to use, which makes getting started easier. However, some users also report that the interface can be confusing, so this area is described in individual cases as having room for improvement.
Features & Offering
The savings plan can be set up from one euro and covers more than 400 crypto assets, executed weekly, on the 1st and 15th of the month or monthly. Staking products and transfers to external wallets round out the offering. Payment routes include SEPA transfer, card, PayPal, Apple Pay and Google Pay, though not every method works for the savings plan; the euro balance in the account can also be used. Identity verification runs online with an ID document and a live selfie. As of November 2026.
Some users would like additional convenience features such as direct debit for savings plans, instant or real-time transfers, and notes for the watchlist. According to reviews, the newsletter is also occasionally perceived as rather limited.
Stability & Security
Not enough reviews available.
Regarding stability and reliability, users occasionally report technical issues or longer loading times. Overall, the available reviews in this area do not point to a clearly positive or negative picture.
Customer Support
Not enough reviews available.
When it comes to support, users in the reviews report mixed experiences comparatively often. In some cases, poor customer service, unanswered email requests, or a lack of support are mentioned, which is why this area is considered to have room for improvement from the users' perspective.
Details
| Coinbase Global, Inc. | Company | Smartbroker AG |
| 2012 | Founded | 2019 |
| First company with BaFin crypto license. Deficiencies flagged in 2022, since remediated. MiCA via Luxembourg. | Regulation | Crypto custodian Tangany GmbH has a BaFin license |
| € 1 | Minimum Amount | € 0.01 |
| eID, VideoIdent | KYC | eID, Video-ID, PostIdent |
Verdict
In our overall rating Smartbroker+ leads with 4.4 against 4.2 for Coinbase.
For most investors Smartbroker+ is therefore the better choice.
The Coinbase savings plan targets investors who want to buy regularly and automatically rather than trying to time an entry. The barrier is as low as it gets at a one euro minimum, the range covers more than 400 crypto assets, and execution runs without further intervention: weekly, on the 1st and 15th of the month or monthly. The first purchase is executed as soon as the plan is set up; amount and frequency cannot be changed later, so you cancel the plan and create a new one.
On regulation Coinbase stands well in Europe: it was the first company to hold a BaFin crypto custody licence, and deficiencies identified in 2022 have been remedied according to the company. Crypto services are now provided by Coinbase Luxembourg S.A., licensed under MiCA since 20 June 2025 and supervised by Luxembourg's financial regulator CSSF; the licence covers 30 EEA countries. Payment routes include SEPA transfer, card, PayPal, Apple Pay and Google Pay, an unusually broad selection for the European market. Not every payment method works for the savings plan, the app shows which ones do; instalments can also be paid from the euro balance in the account.
What changed in 2026: Customers in the EEA can no longer buy stablecoins without MiCA authorisation such as USDT, DAI or PYUSD on Coinbase, so they are no longer available for a savings plan either. According to Coinbase, balances still held on the cut-off date of 30 October 2026 are converted once into USDC at the market rate. On 22 October 2026 the Central Bank of Ireland announced a fine of €3.25 million against Coinbase Ireland Limited, which holds euro balances for Coinbase customers: between November 2020 and August 2025 client funds were not adequately safeguarded. The regulator does not allege any loss of client money, and the sanction takes effect once confirmed by the Irish High Court. Details in our Coinbase review.
The sore point is price: up to 1.875% per purchase, depending on the payment method, is high in this comparison, so up to 18.75 euro on 1,000 euro. Across a savings plan with many small instalments that compounds noticeably over the years. Investors who value convenience and regulatory footing above the last fraction of a percent are well served; anyone watching costs should weigh the fees against cheaper savings plan providers.
Smartbroker+ is perceived in the DACH region as a multi-asset broker that combines cryptocurrencies with stocks, ETFs, and derivatives on one platform. With 39 tradable cryptocurrencies and custody via Tangany GmbH, which has held a MiCAR authorisation from BaFin since August 2025, the provider is considered to be on solid regulatory footing. Smartbroker AG has notified BaFin under MiCAR that it receives and transmits crypto orders, which are executed via Baader Bank. Trading fees of 0.9 % for crypto are in the mid-range among German neobrokers; the trading venue's mark-up or mark-down and a €1 small-order surcharge below €500 come on top.
Users appreciate that crypto can be bought from as little as €0.01, which enables an especially accessible entry point. Regular investing works through savings plans on 35 crypto ETPs, which run without an order fee. The platform is available via app and web and is aimed at investors who want to manage different asset classes centrally. For users who already invest in stocks and ETFs and want to add crypto as an additional component, Smartbroker+ is seen as a practical solution.
Transfers to or from personal wallets are not possible, and staking is not offered for directly held cryptocurrencies; both are occasionally criticized by users. Deposits come only from the registered reference account, either by SEPA direct debit with funds available within seconds or by bank transfer. Users see room for improvement in the waiting time after registration, and the crypto wallet requires residence in Germany. Smartbroker+ is therefore particularly suitable for securities investors in the DACH region looking for a German broker with BaFin-regulated crypto custody and a broad product range.