Binance Pro vs Gate.io Comparison
In our overall rating Binance Pro leads with 4.1 out of 5 points, ahead of Gate.io with 3.7. Our table lists the trading fee as “0.1 %” for Binance Pro and “0.1% spot (maker and taker)” for Gate.io. Gate.io has been on the market longer, founded in 2013, while Binance Pro followed in 2017.
| 0.1 % | Fees | 0.1% spot (maker and taker) |
| € 1.00 | Minimum cost per €1,000 | — |
| 482 | Cryptos | — |
| SEPA Instant Transfer, SEPA Transfer, Credit Card | Payment Methods | — |
| License in Germany refused by BaFin | Regulation | MiCA licence via MFSA (Malta) |

Cost comparison
The basis is a Bitcoin purchase worth €1,000, calculated from the disclosed trading fee. A price markup in the spread is not included, because most providers do not publish it.
| € 1.00 | Minimum cost per €1,000 | — |
| 0.1 % | Fees | 0.1% spot (maker and taker) |
| € 7.47 | Wallet transfer | — |
| Limited | Cost transparency | — |
| € 1 | Minimum Amount | ~$10 USD |
| SEPA Instant Transfer, SEPA Transfer, Credit Card | Payment Methods | — |
Binance Pro uses a volume-based maker/taker model. New users pay 0.10% maker and 0.10% taker; from VIP 1 upwards, 30-day spot volume and BNB balance count together. Paying fees in BNB reduces every rate by a further 25%.
| Tier | 30-day volume and BNB balance | Maker | Taker | With BNB (25% off) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Regular user | below USD 1M or 0 BNB | 0.100% | 0.100% | 0.075% / 0.075% |
| VIP 1 | USD 1M+ and 5 BNB | 0.090% | 0.100% | 0.0675% / 0.075% |
| VIP 3 | USD 20M+ and 100 BNB | 0.040% | 0.060% | 0.030% / 0.045% |
| VIP 6 | USD 400M+ and 1,750 BNB | 0.020% | 0.029% | 0.015% / 0.02175% |
| VIP 9 | USD 4B+ and 5,500 BNB | 0.011% | 0.023% | 0.00825% / 0.01725% |
USDC pairs carry a taker rate of 0.095% in the lower tiers, or 0.07125% with BNB. As of 1 November 2026, according to Binance's fee page. This comparison does not constitute investment advice.
Not enough reviews available.
Pros & Cons
- Volume-based maker/taker model from 0.10%/0.10%
- BNB discount: 25% additional fee reduction when paying in BNB
- Pro order types: limit, market, stop-limit, OCO, trailing stop, limit-maker, iceberg
- API access: REST, WebSocket, and FIX (institutional)
- More than 1,300 spot pairs covering more than 480 crypto assets
- Shared account with standard Binance, seamless switch between Convert and Pro
- No MiCA authorisation granted. Binance is not listed in ESMA's register (file dated 30 October 2026). According to its own statement, Binance withdrew its application with the Greek regulator HCMC on 24 June 2026; as of 1 November 2026 it has not named another member state.
- Hack on 29 October 2026 with losses of around USD 6.3 billion; withdrawals suspended from 30 October to 1 November, reopening step by step since the morning of 1 November (as of 16:30 UTC)
- BaFin license application in Germany withdrawn
- Margin and futures trading restricted for EU retail investors
- Learning curve compared to standard direct-purchase interface has room for improvement
- Lowest VIP tiers only reachable from high 30-day volume onward

- MiCA authorisation as a crypto-asset service provider from Malta's MFSA since 29 September 2025, passported across the EEA, plus a licence for payment services
- Gate EU with localised sites: more than 200 cryptocurrencies, each tradable against the euro and USDC
- Spot fee of 0.1% for makers and takers, makers pay 0% from VIP 10
- Convert, OTC trading, staking and the Gate Card alongside spot trading
- A much smaller selection for EU customers than on the global platform, which according to Gate lists more than 5,400 cryptocurrencies
- No futures trading on Gate EU
- No USDT pairs, no GT token and no GT fee discount on Gate EU
- Migration required: existing EEA customers of the global platform are being moved to Gate EU step by step
User Experiences
AI AnalysisNo separate analysis -- based on Binance.

Provider details (fees, licences, pros and cons) editorially reviewed: November 2026. This comparison does not constitute investment advice. All information without guarantee.
Features
| not available | Maker/Taker Model | not specified |
| not available | BNB Discount | not specified |
| not available | Order Types | not specified |
| not available | API | not specified |
| not available | Charts | not specified |
| not available | Margin Trading | not specified |
| not available | Futures | not specified |
| not available | BaFin License | not specified |
| not available | MiCA License | not specified |
| not available | Mobile App | not specified |
- Maker/taker model from 0.10% with 25% BNB discount
- Pro order types incl. OCO, trailing stop, and iceberg
- API access via REST, WebSocket, and FIX
- Very broad pair universe from the Binance spot market

- MiCA and PSD2 licensed through Gate Technology Ltd in Malta
- Gate EU with more than 200 cryptocurrencies against the euro and USDC
The five areas head to head
AI AnalysisFees & Costs
No separate analysis -- based on Binance.

Spot on Gate EU: 0.1% for makers and takers (VIP 0). The fee falls step by step with your 30-day volume or account balance, and makers pay 0% from VIP 10. Gate EU does not offer futures (as of 1 November 2026).
Details
| Binance Holdings Ltd. | Company | Gate Technology Ltd |
| 2017 | Founded | 2013 |
| License in Germany refused by BaFin | Regulation | MiCA licence via MFSA (Malta) |
| € 1 | Minimum Amount | ~$10 USD |
| Photo ID | KYC | Photo ID and selfie (required before deposits and withdrawals) |
Verdict
In our overall rating Binance Pro leads with 4.1 against 3.7 for Gate.io.
For most investors Binance Pro is therefore the better choice.
Binance holds no MiCA authorisation in the EU. According to its own statement, the company withdrew its application with the Greek regulator HCMC on 24 June 2026 and said it would pursue authorisation in another EU member state. As of 1 November 2026, Binance has not publicly named that state. Binance does not appear in ESMA's register of authorised crypto-asset service providers (file dated 30 October 2026). Binance itself says users may be affected depending on their country and account status.
Hack in October 2026: According to Binance, hot wallets of the exchange were compromised at around 20:05 UTC on 29 October 2026. Binance puts the loss at around USD 6.3 billion, of which around USD 3 billion has been frozen on-chain. Binance temporarily suspended withdrawals, while deposits continue to work. The exchange says it is covering the losses from its SAFU emergency fund and company funds: on 31 October Binance reported that 90% of the stolen assets had been replenished, with BTC, ETH, USDT, BNB, SOL, USDC and XRP fully covered, and published a new Proof of Reserves snapshot taken at 00:00 UTC on 31 October. Binance announced a phased resumption of withdrawals for Sunday, 1 November 2026; since the morning of 1 November the first withdrawals have been running again; at 16:30 UTC the Binance interface showed them open for Bitcoin, Ether, BNB, Solana, XRP, USDT and USDC.
Binance Pro is the professional trading environment within the Binance ecosystem and is aimed at experienced traders. Instead of the flat direct-purchase fee on the standard interface, a volume-based maker/taker model applies here, with entry rates of 0.10% maker and 0.10% taker. From VIP 1 upwards, you need a balance of at least 5 BNB in addition to USD 1 million in 30-day trading volume; at VIP 9 the rates fall to 0.011% maker and 0.023% taker. Those who pay fees in BNB receive an additional 25% discount, bringing the entry rate to 0.075%. Fees as of 1 November 2026, according to Binance's fee page.
The order set covers limit, market, stop-limit, OCO, trailing stop, limit-maker, and iceberg orders. Margin trading and futures are mapped through separate interfaces within the Binance account, but are restricted for retail investors in the EU. API access is provided via REST, WebSocket, and FIX for institutional users.
Binance Pro is aimed at traders who value low maker/taker conditions, a broad pair selection, and pro order types. Anyone who needs a trading venue authorised in the EU will not find one here at present. This comparison does not constitute investment advice.
Gate, known as Gate.io until May 2025, is one of the exchanges with the widest altcoin selection worldwide: according to Gate, more than 5,400 cryptocurrencies can be traded on its global platform. Customers in the EEA are served through Gate EU, run by Gate Technology Ltd in Malta. Malta's regulator MFSA authorised the company as a crypto-asset service provider under MiCA on 29 September 2025; the authorisation is passported across the EEA, and the company also holds a licence for payment services. Since the end of June 2026, Gate has been moving existing EEA customers from the global platform to Gate EU step by step.
Gate EU is leaner than the global exchange: on 1 November 2026 it listed more than 200 cryptocurrencies, each against the euro and USDC. It also offers convert, OTC trading, staking and the Gate Card; futures, USDT pairs and the in-house GT token are not part of the offering. The spot fee is 0.1% for makers and takers and falls with trading volume, with makers paying nothing from VIP 10.
Our verdict: for experienced altcoin traders in Europe, Gate EU is a regulated option with a broad selection and a low spot fee. It is not designed for futures trading.