Backpack vs Bitpanda Fusion Comparison
| 0.08 % Maker / 0.10 % Taker, Swap: 0.85 % | Fees | 0.25 % |
| not comparable | Minimum cost per €1,000 | € 2.50 |
| ~50+ | Cryptos | 100+ |
| Card, bank via Banxa; SEPA limited | Payment Methods | SEPA Instant Transfer, SEPA Transfer, Credit Card, PayPal |
| VARA (Dubai); EU rollout via FTX EU only now | Regulation | MiCA license via BaFin |
Cost comparison
The basis is a Bitcoin purchase worth €1,000, calculated from the disclosed trading fee. A price markup in the spread is not included, because most providers do not publish it.
| not comparable | Minimum cost per €1,000 | € 2.50 |
| 0.08 % Maker / 0.10 % Taker, Swap: 0.85 % | Fees | 0.25 % |
| Not disclosed | Wallet transfer | € 2.91 |
| No; tiers + hidden swap costs | Cost transparency | Yes |
| Unclear | Minimum Amount | € 1 |
| Card, bank via Banxa; SEPA limited | Payment Methods | SEPA Instant Transfer, SEPA Transfer, Credit Card, PayPal |
Not enough reviews available.
Bitpanda Fusion charges a tiered trading fee in seven levels, based on your trading volume over the last 30 days. Bitpanda lists a single rate per level; the fee table does not distinguish between maker and taker orders.
| 30-day volume (EUR) | Fee |
|---|---|
| Up to 100,000 | 0.25% |
| 100,000 to 500,000 | 0.21% |
| 500,000 to 2,500,000 | 0.17% |
| 2,500,000 to 10,000,000 | 0.13% |
| 10,000,000 to 50,000,000 | 0.08% |
| 50,000,000 to 250,000,000 | 0.05% |
| Over 250,000,000 | 0.02% |
Fee table retrieved from the Bitpanda website on 11 September 2026. This comparison does not constitute investment advice.
Pros & Cons
- Low maker fees starting at 0.08% and taker fees starting at 0.10%
- Staking is available
- Wallet and exchange in one ecosystem
- VARA license in Dubai
- Cost transparency is seen as room for improvement – hidden costs occasionally criticized
- Wallet transfer fees are not disclosed
- No savings plan available
- Swap fees of 0.85% occasionally criticized
- Volume-based fees from 0.25% down to 0.02%
- Pro order types: limit, stop-limit, stop-market, take-profit limit
- Native TradingView charts with advanced indicators
- Public REST API for algorithmic trading
- Shared account with standard Bitpanda, no extra onboarding
- Liquidity from 12+ aggregated order books
- Learning curve compared to the standard Bitpanda app has room for improvement
- Savings plan feature not available on Fusion
- Lowest fee tiers only reachable from high 30-day volume onward
- Asset selection limited to spot pairs, with no precious metals or stocks like on standard Bitpanda
Features
| ✓ | Savings plan | ✓ |
| ✓ | Staking | ✓ |
| ✓ | Wallet transfer | ✓ |
| ✓ | Cost transparency | ✓ |
| ✓ | 2FA security | ✓ |
| ✓ | SEPA transfer | ✓ |
| ✓ | Credit card | ✓ |
| ✓ | Minimum amount | ✓ |
| ✓ | Mobile app (iOS/Android) | ✓ |
| ✓ | Web platform | ✓ |
| ✓ | Volume Fee Tiers | ✓ |
| ✓ | Order Types | ✓ |
| ✓ | API | ✓ |
| ✓ | Charts | ✓ |
| ✓ | Aggregated Order Books | ✓ |
| ✓ | Savings Plan | ✓ |
| ✓ | Wallet Transfer | ✓ |
| ✓ | 2FA Security | ✓ |
| ✓ | BaFin License | ✓ |
| ✓ | Mobile App | ✓ |
- Maker fees starting at 0.08% are considered low
- VARA license in Dubai
- Wallet and exchange on one platform
- Tiered fee in 7 steps, from 0.25% down to 0.02%
- Native TradingView charts and pro order types
- Public REST API
- BaFin licensing via the Bitpanda ecosystem
Details
| Trek Labs (FTX ties) | Company | Bitpanda GmbH |
| Dubai (VARA) | Headquarters | — |
| 2023 | Founded | 2014 |
| VARA (Dubai); EU rollout via FTX EU only now | Regulation | MiCA license via BaFin |
| Unclear | Minimum Amount | € 1 |
| Yes | KYC | eID, Photo ID |
Verdict
In our overall rating Bitpanda Fusion leads with 4.6 against 2.1 for Backpack.
For most investors Bitpanda Fusion is therefore the better choice.
Backpack is operated by Trek Labs, a team that also includes former FTX employees. The exchange holds a VARA license in Dubai, but does not have EU regulation – according to comparison data, EU access is provided via FTX EU. The low maker fees starting at 0.08% and the integration of wallet and exchange in one ecosystem are appreciated by users.
Cost transparency is seen as room for improvement – in particular, the undisclosed wallet transfer fees and swap fees of 0.85% are occasionally criticized. The selection of around 50 cryptocurrencies is limited compared with larger exchanges, and the lack of a savings plan limits the options for long-term investors.
The connection to former FTX employees is viewed differently in the market. Backpack is aimed primarily at technically savvy users who are looking for low trading fees and integrated wallet features and are willing to make compromises on cost transparency, coin selection, and regulatory coverage in the EU.
Bitpanda Fusion is the pro trading platform within the Bitpanda ecosystem and is aimed at active traders with higher volume. Instead of the flat 0.99% fee on the standard app, a tiered fee applies here that falls in seven steps from 0.25% to 0.02% as your trading volume over the last 30 days grows. Account, verification, and custody are shared with the regular Bitpanda platform, so no separate onboarding is required.
According to Bitpanda, Fusion compares the order books of more than twelve trading venues in real time and offers the best aggregated price. Fusion does not run an order book of its own: every order is executed directly with Bitpanda, which is why Bitpanda describes Fusion as a broker rather than an exchange. The interface integrates TradingView natively and supports market, limit, stop-limit, stop-market, and take-profit limit orders. A public REST API is available for algorithmic trading, and Bitpanda has announced a WebSocket API. The learning curve compared to the standard Bitpanda app is occasionally criticized in user comments, as is the absence of the savings plan feature.
Bitpanda Fusion is considered particularly suitable for traders who value low volume-based fees, pro order types, and API access. Those who mainly use savings plans, precious metals, or simple direct purchase are better served on the standard platform. This comparison does not constitute investment advice.